We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a meal or just a beer - worth a visit”
Review of Jolly Jacks

Jolly Jacks
Ranked #14 of 722 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $26
Cuisines: Bar, British, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated In a waterside location in Mayflower Marina we serve food and drinks ALL DAY, EVERY DAY. As well as restaurant and bar areas we have a terrace for al fresco dining and a cosy log burner for those bitter winter nights.
France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“For a meal or just a beer - worth a visit”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

For a stranger to Plymouth the first problem will be finding the place. I would suggest using GPS as the road to the marina appears to be running into a ship yard! 50° 21' 53.99"N 04°10'03.60"W (please check this info).
The second problem can be parking, entry into the marina appears to be restricted and there are only a hand full of places out side.
I have visited JJ a few time both for a meal and just for a drink. Good beers are available and there is a good ambiance to sit and chat - however when the restaurant in in full swing space is very limited for a quiet pint.
Meals - fish and chips are excellent with generous helpings. Other meals - well presented and good quality.
The price - not cheap but worth the trip. The wine is expensive (but isn't it in all restaurants) .
Many of the wines appear to be from the antipodies - australian guevurtstraminer! well it tasted ok but a wine drinker may be taken aback.
On a sunny day there are some good walks up Mont Wise and the Scot memorial.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegid-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookygirl, Owner at Jolly Jacks, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. PARKING there is approx 175 free spaces inside the marina, just take a token the barrier will lift and voila.

Kind regards Sue & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    646
    202
    66
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
plymouth
Level Contributor
463 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Cold fish pie”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Came here for lunch with friends and we all ordered the special fish pie, which when it arrived looked pretty enough but all the pies were cold in the middle and prawn sticking out of the top was inedible. The pies were taken away and re heated and the manager did apologise.
The experience was not up to the standard I had expected based on the reviews I had read and the service was a bit and hit and miss, eg coffee served before the dessert.
Although based in a marina there is no real view of the water, mostly the carpark.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank pbhPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookygirl, Owner at Jolly Jacks, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Unforgivable what more can I say.

Kind regards Sue & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Average lunch”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Popped in for a light lunchtime bite. Waitresses friendly enough and decor quite fresh. Ordered 2 steak sandwiches. Nice crispy fresh baguettes and lovely home made chutney/relish. Unfortunately the steak was quite chewy. Had a side of chips which were very nice!

Steak can always be a difficult one to get right but I did expect better after reading all the positive reviews.

Not fantastic but worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank m n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookygirl, Owner at Jolly Jacks, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Our steak baguettes are a big hit, we buy our beef from a local farm which has an excellent reputation, very occasionally you get a less than perfect piece of beef, we and our butcher never know until you try it which is why we check back to tables giving people the opportunity to say if there is a problem with their meals, if there is we are always happy to replace immediately. Good to hear the baguette, homemade chutney, and hand cut chips were to your satisfaction.

Kind regards Sue & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb food and lovely relaxed atmosphere”
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We came here a while ago for a quick breakfast and I have to say the Eggs Benedict was yummy and more recently went back there for a lunch which has prompted my review.
My friend recommended the Scotch Egg (normally something I would avoid!) but I have to say it was amazing and the Fish and Chips to follow were also super. I originally thought it was just a posh cafe but it really is lovely for anytime of the day with a proper restaurant area for lunch or dinner. Definetely worth a visit. Will be back again to try more of the delicious menu! :-D

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank slr0209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookygirl, Owner at Jolly Jacks, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Breakfast, lunch, got to be dinner next, very pleased you enjoyed Jolly Jacks, look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards. Sue & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Scotch eggs”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The best scotch eggs I've ever tasted, as a starter.
We've been several times and will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jasonesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cookygirl, Owner at Jolly Jacks, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Oh yes they are yummy and a permanent feature on our menu. Thanks for taking time to write.

Kind regards Sue & Sally
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Jacks also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing