We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Old Pier House

Old Pier House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Pier House
Ranked #36 of 84 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Plymouth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really good value”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

Very good location for those interested in tourism and exploring the town. I stayed here for 1 night, on work related visit and found this a really good, cheap and well maintained B&B.
Parking was free on the street (at night) and no problems as i left pretty early in the morning. Room (single) was fairly roomy and comfortable. It did the business for me - a night's sleep.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    18
    6
    3
    7
See reviews for
8
20
12
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Very nice landlady friendly and welcomed us with early check in , however please please be aware that the standard of the room reflects the budget tariff.
Goo location and as mentioned very friendly and helpful landlady with a nice cat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyrob22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodmin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

As a last minute booking we didn't really know what to expect but on arrival we were greeted by Wendy who was friendly and welcoming. We were shown to our room which was comfortable and clean with tea and coffee facilities. The bathroom was well equipped and clean. The bed clean and comfortable, couldn't ask for anymore really. The location was quiet and nice. The breakfast was average but plenty of choice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsCW1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We enjoyed our stay there very much. The host, a lady, was really lovely and helpful. For breakfast we were offered a good choice. The room was clean and comfortable, with a wash basin. Shared bathroom, but that was really ok.
The B&B is situated close to the sea front but you have to walk about 10-15 minutes to reach the city center (bus station). The rail station is about 1.4 miles away, but there are buses to the city centre (Royal Parade).
So we can recommend the B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Was greeted by Wendy who was incredibly friendly and welcoming after I arrived at 10 o'clock at night. The guest house was clean had everything I required. The bed was not the most comfortable I've ever slept in but it was adequate. The breakfast was great-it had everything that you would expect and delivered to a good standard. All in all I thought that for the price it could not be faulted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HugeSnilloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I booked a single room, it was typical of a B and B, but had the advantage of having a bit more space around the bed. I was able to connect to the internet, very useful because I had a Skype interview to conduct. Breakfast was freshly cooked and managed very quickly. I would advise a new shower dial, it was difficult to know which side was hot and cold and some darker curtains and blinds.

Room Tip: Take an eye mask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brest, France
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I spent a week in Wendy's guest house at the end of July and it has proved a very enjoyable one. Wendy is a wonderful hostess, attentive, providing helpful advice on where to go to get the most of this lovely part of England. I highly recommend her place to those who look for friendly hospitality and relaxed atmosphere. Thanks a million to her for the long and interesting conversations we have had together.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elsa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Moorings Guest House
The Moorings Guest House
#29 of 84 in Plymouth
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
Firs Guest House
Firs Guest House
#37 of 84 in Plymouth
42 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#11 of 84 in Plymouth
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#6 of 84 in Plymouth
271 reviews
0.5 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#7 of 84 in Plymouth
223 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#16 of 84 in Plymouth
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Pier House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Pier House

Property: Old Pier House
Address: 20 Radford Road, Plymouth PL1 3BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Pier House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Pier House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing