We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little tea house!”
Review of Tudor Rose Tea Room - CLOSED

Tudor Rose Tea Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Aldershot, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charming little tea house!”
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I had a lovely breakfast at the tea house! Good food, well priced and lovely staff and location! Full English and a cream tea were both tasty with good portion sizes!

Helpful?
1 Thank ddavidnathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    82
    29
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Garden, Staff and FOOD. Serve Full English Breakfast all day.”
Reviewed February 6, 2014

My husband and I LOVE to sit outside in the lovely garden (especially on those rare sunny days) and you can order Breakfast all day so you can enjoy a lay in on and still enjoy an amazing breakfast feast in the afternoon. They made a wonderful banana milk shake. Yummy. The staff is friendly and atentive. There is a waterbowl always fill in the Dog friendly garden and family's will appreciate the casual garden seating for everyone, especailly the kids to be comfortable. Sit inside for a cup of cream tea and delicious Lunch, you will enjoy the lovely decore that embraces the History of this old but well maintaned building full of warmth and traditional English charm. Located on the back street of the popular southside street in the Barbican, definately make your way BACK to the tudar rose, you will not be disappointed.. :)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We found this little place last winter when wandering around and went back for the obligatory afternoon cream tea. It's unpretentious,and, to be frank, looks a little dark but it's great! The owner/manager is so friendly and the place is also dog-friendly, a real bonus.
The cucumber sandwiches with the afternoon tea were divine and the cream tea as good as one would expect in a proper tea-room in Devon. You just expected to look over and see Miss Marple having tea! Great atmosphere.
Can't recommend it enough, looking forward to going back. Just a shame we live so far away.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ckeeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good local tearoom with an astonishingly nice patron”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just like home! I often feel out of sorts when wearing my HiViz and Spandex cycle gear in a posh tea room like this. Service came with a friendly smile. Helpful with a good menu and lashings of tea. I wanted to go back again a couple of days later on, New Years Eve, but they weren't open. There are plenty of good Cafs, Restaurants and takeaways in the area but they are not as relaxing and accommodating, Soon to return

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeakSeagull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A gem of a find”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stumbled across when mooching about (in the freezing cold) as in Plymouth for a gig.
Had planned on cream tea/ a couple of puddings.
Often hard to find room in little places for larger families.
As it was, the owner went out of her way to fit us in/ find us a table by opening another room.
We all ordered multiple, different hot meals which arrived together and tasted ace.
Service and attention was so good we stayed for pudding!
Left much heavier round the middle, lighter in the pocket (reasonable mind you, as portion sizes were homely, not skimpy) but a definite place to return to!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank not2_4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tudor Rose Tea Room also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing