We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Millstones Country Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Plymouth(Plymouth)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (110)
Filter reviews
110 results
Traveler rating
34
37
24
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
37
24
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstavistock roadstayed at this hotel recentlydouble glazingfour poster bedpark rideplenty of parkingminute driveseen better daysother guestslong journeynext morningbreakfast rooma lovely stayexcellent value for moneywarm welcomereceptionistcornwall
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 110 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

The picture of the hotel must have been taken long ago as this is not how it appears today. The room was too small with a postered bed - brass and old. The curtains were an inch too small and as the bed was next to the window, light poured through. The 'en suite' was a sliding door next to the bed and was tiny. It had a toilet and a shower cubicle with a shower curtain! No shower screen just a faded curtain! All the windows had paint peeling off and black through condensation. The riom view was a busy main road and the bathroom view was the bins in a run down gsrden area with orher rubbish thrown on the grass.The decor was dated and the room and stairs are in need of refurbishing. I note that the hairdryer and kettle did not have PAT tested stickers on so doubtful they had been tested either. The breakfast was greasey and served in the conservatory. Although described as having a garden view, I found this was hardly the case as there was decking outside with old garden furniture in need of a clean. The main door to the hotel was locked at 11pm and we were advised to use the side door and to ask someone where it was. The whole experience of staying one night was depressing and not what we expected at all. We checked out earlier than anticipated as we could not contemplate another night there. The future Inn is much nicer, competitively priced, modern, clean and roomy - exactly what one would expect when paying to stay in a hotel not a dingy little run down room. The whole experience of staying at the millstones is one I would rather forget.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue7139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

From the outside we wondered how big a mistake we'd made by booking 2 nights at this 'hotel', Inside it's far more like a B&B than a hotel, however it does have a bar and serves evening meals if required hence the hotel status.
Our double room was very clean, spacious, but somewhat dated regarding furniture and carpet.
The bathroom was in dire need of redecoration, however it was very clean.
The breakfast choice and service was excellent.
One of the best attributes is offroad parking and plenty of it, it's hard to comeby that in Plymouth for the same price as charged at the Millstone. It is situated on the main road with good access to all major routes in and out of plymouth, however A room facing the road would i think be rather noisy is it's a busy artery into the city 24 hours a day.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a garden view
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

So the local '' cheap ? " motels where full but this place popped up on my search. Now the national brands wanted £59 for the night, room only. The Millstones on the other hand wanted £58 for the night, inc full English breakfast ( with many extras for fussy eaters ) free wifi and parking, along with a small bar on site ! No competition.
My single room looked like Alexi Polizzi had recently passed through and was beautifully styled in a modern, neutral theme with a great view of the rear gardens. A nice bright clean bathroom, with white towels. Tea and coffee in room with great wifi access and spare plug sockets . Only slight irritation... TV was struggling to show many of the freeview channels and was suffering poor signal so was unwatchable really. Staff where more friendly than some of my relatives and you get the impression you could ask for anything and they would see what they could do ! Will be going back, thats for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank solo-vegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Easy to find and just outside of plymouth the millstones hotel feels like a home from home. Clean accomodating and the staff are like carlsberg - probably the best staff in thw world. Very friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Great value for money. I use the hotel for business trips but would definitely use for a short family break to explore plymouth.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Chose this hotel due to location and reasonable price for a family room. On arrival the hotel looked very untidy and run-down, and we entered with some trepidation. The interior was slightly better, bit very old and dated (lots of dark wood). We then also found that the family room was double booked...However the receptionist was very friendly and helpful and organised 2 adjoining rooms, which although not ideal did not cost us any more.

The rooms again were a bit dated, but not bad - and very clean. A bit fusty smelling, but that may be more due to the damp weather. Was also a bit noisy as walls are very thin, but luckily not enough to disturb us or the children. Our stay was comfortable, and breakfast was very good in the conservatory, with the same receptionist/waitress again was very pleasant and helpful.

Good enough for a cheap stay for a day or two and good location for Dartmoor etc, but the hotel does need a serious refursishment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews