We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hosts, beautiful building, wonderful setting and excellent value”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B at Eastern Lodge
Ranked #48 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 25, 2010

We went down to this neck of the woods for a wedding and found a gem in Eastern Lodge. The hosts were charming and very helpful throughout our stay, looking after us very well and making sure we got where we needed, when we needed. The Lodge is a beautiful old gate house, set a couple of hundred metres from the cliffs and in a perfect spot to start any number of great walks along the coast. The Gatehouse Room has a breathtaking view and a really unique Art Deco bathroom. This B&B comes highly recommended - we will certainly be planning on using it again when we head down to see some more of the stunning countryside.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 39 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2010

We travelled to Noss Mayo to be with friends on his 60th Birthday and stayed at the B&B ar Eastern Lodge. We run a B&B ourselves and were delighted with the welcome and attention to detail in this three bedroom house. The location is stunning with wonderful views and walks along the south coast route. Salka and Chris were charming hosts and could not be more helpful, arranging transport and other considerations. A great find and we wish them continued success - Duncan and Jo

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

We just made a last minute booking to this B&B as a stopover no the way back to London and it turned into the highlight of our Christmas Break.
The surroundings, the building, the views, the welcome.. all out of this world.
I have never felt more relaxed or more spoilt than at Eastern Lodge.
The rooms are beautifully decorated, the beds huge and the sheets are amazing! I never thought I would ever need to comment on sheets but they are so beautifully soft!
The hosts are a delight nothing too much trouble, they organised a meal at the local pub for us so we were guaranteed a top table. They prepared the most delicious breakfast, super fresh muesli (hand made), great bacon sandwich and pots of coffee.
I cannot recommend this place enough, it really is an absolute gem, great way to start 2010.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atrickey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Eastern Lodge while attending a wedding in nearby Newton Ferrers and we couldn't have been happier. The romantic 19th Century property on the Membland estate is simply charming - a bit like something out of a fairy tale with its interesting shapes and crooked chimney. Our hostess Salka was incredibly welcoming and attended to our every need. Her scrumptious breakfast and signature scrambled eggs with feta, tomatoes and fresh herbs worth the visit alone! We stayed in the round Gatekeepers Room and woke up to a stunning sea view, which included Burgh Island where we got married - perfect! Our friends stayed in the other two rooms and were equally happy with their accommodation. This is a B&B with a difference and not to be missed.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank holtro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Run by a very welcoming young couple, eager to please. Clean room with comfortable giant bed, art deco bathroom and sea views. Lounge downstairs with tea/coffee making facilities, DVDs and television, books and sofa. Breakfast served in a delightful room overlooking the garden.

The building is on a quiet backroad, surrounded by typical South Devon countryside, very attractive, quirky and full of character, decorated artistically, complementing the overall effect.

The location is ideal for local beaches, one within walking distance (not visited) but brilliant Mothecombe beach within 5 minutes by car. Pub in Noss Mayo is walkable (40 mins) down a forest track and local roads but you will need a torch on way back at night . The Ship Inn has great food and lots of tables outside overlooking the creek.

We found the B&B perfect and couldn't recommend it enough!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Casbah33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Es gibt nur drei Zimmer auf der Eastern Lodge und ein jedes Zimmer sprüht vor Charme.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank fredi_elfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FriedaLue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
6.4 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
6.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
198 reviews
6.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
604 reviews
8.6 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,131 reviews
7.2 mi away
Best Western Duke Of Cornwall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B at Eastern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B at Eastern Lodge

Address: Membland nr. Newton Ferrers, Plymouth PL8 1HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eastern Lodge, the B&B with the wonky chimney, was built as a gatehouse in 1883 by Edward Baring, the acclaimed banker. Set in beautiful surroundings, it overlooks the sea and Dartmoor, yet Plymouth is only 10 miles away. Walk up and down the coastal path, find beautiful little coves of tranquility before settling down to a luxurious cream tea in the legendry teashop of Newton Ferrers or have a gorgeous dinner at the Ship Inn in Noss Mayo, known to the locals as Happy Valley. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing