We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay.”
Review of Barbican Reach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Barbican Reach
Ranked #7 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Just home from a very pleasant two night stay here. Thoroughly recommend to anyone looking for a good base for time in Plymouth.
Room was spotlessly clean; well decorated in a non-fussy way. bed comfy, all amenities (en-suite, wi-fi - though didn't use that, coffee, tea, etc.; best of all, for someone hearing impaired like me, the TV has subtitles!! So many hotels nowadays simply don't. Incredibly annoying.
Breakfast is apparently legendary - can see why now!! Again, cooked fresh to order, NOT silently congealing on a hotplate as is often case in large chain hotels. Proper coffee, crusty fresh bread, and house specialities (menu gave three - wish I'd stayed 3rd night to teat them all!)
Quiet area, but very close to all bars, restaurants, etc. of Barbican area. I walked to Rhodes at the Dome & Tanner Bros. places from here - no problem. 5 minutes from excellent National Marine Aquarium too. £5 taxi ride from station, or 20 minute walk (depending how fit & how much luggage!)
Would (and possibly will) stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 247 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The B&B is advertised as being quiet, which it delightfully is but by no means isolated. So very close to Barbican life it is the perfect location for restaurants & bars. Really clean (very important!) with a comfortable bed & great friendly service this really is the perfect place to stay. Needless to say, we will be calling Rob again to make a booking. Thank you for giving us a great weekend Rob.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank helelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

A great little B&B in a very central location. The hosts couldn't be more helpful, car parking can be problem but they arranged for a spot to be saved. You need to book your 'slot' for Breakfast as it is cooked to order. We had the attic room which has a shower in the room and the toilet just across the landing, but it was only used by us.

Room Tip: You need to be close friends to have the attic room as the shower is in the room. If this is a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I booked a 3 night stay at Barbican Reach B&B on the strength of the excellent reviews, photos, location & pricing & I can honestly say that it lived up to my expectations & more........... I simply can't fault it.
The location is perfect in that it's very quiet at night, yet so incredibly close to the Barbican area pubs, restaurants & shops...... it's also very close to the seafront, Hoe & town centre.
I walked from the train station to Barbican Reach in a straight line through the centre of town in a very short space of time (had it been raining, I would have taken a cab).
Rob is the perfect host & his choice of cooked breakfasts, witty menu & secret recipe coffee are all excellent.
I have never stayed at such a clean & well kept B&B, everything is well looked after & maintained to a very high degree.
Rob was very accommodating in allowing me to check in early due to train times........ & after checking out at 10am on the Monday morning, there was no problem in leaving my suitcase there until mid afternoon.
Thank you for an excellent stay Rob,
Alfie

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlfieEleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Rob was waiting outside for us upon arrival, to show us where to park. Outside another Guest House down the Road.
We had two rooms booked, my hubby and I took the ground floor one (room 5) The room is very basic, En-suite lovely everything is spotlessly clean. The view only the yard, but hey ho. Although you may feel the urge to do a bit of recycling and weeding.
Breakfast was to order, mainly microwaved but I have to say very tasty.

Thank you Rob for your hospitallity

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lillyNewquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Recently had a very pleasant stay at the Barbican Reach. The room was spacious, clean, bright and airy. Rob was an attentive host at all times, helping us with luggage, parking and information on places to visit. Breakfast was first class and cooked to order. Definitely one place I recommend if visiting the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pat H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed at Barbican Reach for two nights - location suited us perfectly as we could park the car and walk almost everywhere we wanted to see in Plymouth.

Very impressed with the overall quality of the decor. Our room, en suite on the top floor, was spotless, comfortable and not cramped.

Rob & Sue very friendly and helpful - told us about taking the ferry from Barbican to KWY and eating at River Cottage Canteen which was excellent.

Rob's eggy,cheesy, bacon on a raft was breakfast of choice for my husband both days.

If you are looking for somewhere well located and reasonably priced to stay in Plymouth I recommend Barbican Reach - we'll be looking to stay again if we need to return to Plymouth.

Room Tip: Room 1, en suite on the top floor, looking out towards the green, can accommodate 2 plus 1 so is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 967Blossom967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,621 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
178 reviews
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ibis Plymouth
Ibis Plymouth
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
601 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
804 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Plymouth City Centre (Sutton Harbour) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican Reach

Address: 225 Citadel Road East, Plymouth PL1 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbican Reach 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Barbican Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing