We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommended!”
Review of Barbican Reach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Barbican Reach
Ranked #8 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very clean, superbly located and readily recommendable place to stay in Plymouth. Genial, warm and friendly hosts who make you feel welcome and at ease immediately. Nothing is too much trouble. Spotless, well presented room - and the breakfast is to die for! Sit in the dining room and look through the book on the history of Plymouth as your breakfast is cooked to order - you've got a delicious treat coming and sets you up for the day. I managed to leave my wash bag behind....but that's fine with me as it's a reason to return soon. Strongly recommended - staying in Plymouth - stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 249 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013

We had an overnight stay here on 9 August, with 2 family rooms overlooking the front of the B and B. The rooms are really lovely. They were spacious, clean and tidy, with a nice ensuite and both rooms had huge windows with a nice view over the green. A quiet area, but within a really short walk to the Barbican. The owner Rob was incredibly helpful. On arrival he rushed out to help us find a close by parking spot, and help carry our bags. Parking was not a problem because Rob holds street parking passes for £2, and spaces arise quickly as people come and go. Rob is keen to help with local knowledge and he has a great sense of humour, as illustrated in the text of his great menu choice for breakfast. We would not hesitate to return to this lovely B and B.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the front of the house have a great outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teigr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived early for a one night stay in Plymouth. Rob was a fantastic host and allowed us to leave the car while exploring the area. Very helpful in telling us where to visit/eat. Room very clean and newly decorated. Great location. Breakfast fresh and cooked to order. Cannot praise this place enough and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hamilton_elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Booked this place by chance as usual hotel was fully booked, Bit wary of B & B's as a rule as have had bad experiences in past. However, the room was well presented, bed very comfortable and shower room newly appointed and spacious. All facilities just right, and situated in quiet street right by Barbican. Rob was extremely helpful, and the breakfast was first rate. Definitely will stay there again, and recommend it thoroughly!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazzamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Just wanted a bed for one night with breakfast.. we got a clean cosy little room that was perfect for our budget and needs. Rob was there to offer help to all... we didn't need it as i've been visiting Plymouth every yr now the past 10 yrs to see my friends. I felt that this B&B deserved a good write up.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Just got home from a lovely stay, very clean tidy light and airy B&B Sue &Rob were very helpful food great a lovely quiet area, close to a lovely old town , close to main shops, and close walk to the harbour

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Kay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked last minute for a local wedding and only considered it because there were no other central options left. We were very lucky. Rob was of great help, allowing us a late arrival at ten pm, helping carry our bags up and being very genuine in his welcome. The attic room was spotless and well presented giving us all we needed for the night. My eggs benedict for breakfast was a very pleasant surprise in its quality. We'd certainly recommend it. We had our 18 month old son with us and used our own travel cot. Rob has very few guests with children so does not provide them. I only mention this because we stumbled on a website (not the owner's) which states cot and high chair are provided. As usual you are best to speak directly to the owner.

Room Tip: The attic room was all we needed for a single night but I saw others the next morning and they were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,705 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Plymouth
The Grosvenor Plymouth
#4 of 21 in Plymouth
807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
Crowne Plaza Plymouth
#13 of 21 in Plymouth
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#6 of 21 in Plymouth
2,160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
Copthorne Hotel Plymouth
#12 of 21 in Plymouth
1,113 reviews
0.2 mi away
Invicta Hotel
Invicta Hotel
#3 of 21 in Plymouth
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barbican Reach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barbican Reach

Address: 225 Citadel Road East, Plymouth PL1 2NG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $75 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Barbican Reach 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barbican Reach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing