We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House in Plymouth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mayflower

Mayflower
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mayflower
Ranked #20 of 83 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ferryhill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Guest House in Plymouth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We had a 3 night stay at the Mayflower in early March.
The guest house was very clean and the room was very spacious and comfortable.
All the main sites in Plymouth are only a 5 min walk from the Guest House with numerous excellent cafes and restaurants nearby.
The proprietors where very friendly and helpful they had good advice of places to visit and local attractions.
The English breakfast was large and very well cooked there was also a good mix of cereal's if required.
Very pleasant stay we look forward to going back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tez W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    16
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
19
32
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The Mayflower is excellent value, Helen and Patrick were the perfect hosts all ways willing to give good advice on what to do in the area, the breakfast was second to none and served with a smile every day, will not hesitate to come back. The mayflower is situated in a prime location Helen and Patrick always there for you if required. Room was clean every day and they made me feel very relaxed. Well done Helen and Patrick.

Room Tip: Good location and good Accommodation
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bideford
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

This hotel is an excellent place to stay. It has a wonderful breakfast which is served in a very bright room, very nice owners who are extremely pleasant and helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. We are staying here again this year which will be our 8th year. We also stay here if we need accommodation having visited the theatre etc. We certainly can and have pleasure in recommending this hotel

Room Tip: Do not pass this hotel, please stop and stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Anne and I have stayed at the Mayflower quite a few times now, and the location is ideal for the centre of PLymouth, just a short walk into town for all the night life you require.
The rooms are very comfortable, and Helen and Patrick make you most welcome, it,s almost like home from home, well! actully it is home from home!!. Thanks Helen and Patrick.

Room Tip: Just give Helen or Patrick your requirments, and they will do they best to fit you in
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west sussex
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

excellent value,Helen and Patrick were perfect hosts,the breakfast was second to none,will not hesitate to come back. situated in a prime location helen and patrick always there for you for help and support.room was very clean and they made me feel very relaxed.well done helen and Pat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

We came to Plymouth for sailing a regatta. Mayflower B&B gave us perfect accomodation: Lovely English breakfast, silent rooms, short distance to the old town center with pubs and restaurants and a VERY friendly atmosphere! Thanks a lot to Helen and Patrick !!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sailor_Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

I've been staying here a few times a year for 2 year now cause I'm a distance learning student at Plymouth University. The place has a great location by the seaside, near the city centre, it's clean, comfy with great breakfast and warm people. Helen and Patrick are open to give you an advice or to go an extra mile for you if you need it. I would recommend Mayflower to anyone planning a trip to Plymouth!! I'm looking forward to staying there again in January.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tancy16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#6 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alma Lodge Guest House
Alma Lodge Guest House
#12 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gallery Guesthouse
Gallery Guesthouse
#5 of 83 in Plymouth
5.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Edgcumbe Guest House
Edgcumbe Guest House
#3 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mariners Guest House
Mariners Guest House
#15 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Mia
Casa Mia
#32 of 83 in Plymouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mayflower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mayflower

Property: Mayflower
Address: 209 Citadel Road East | The Hoe, Plymouth PL1 2JF, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mayflower is a delightful, four storey building built around the 1890's with a welcoming, friendly atmosphere. We are located close to the historic bustling Barbican area, where everything is, and an easy five minute stroll will lead you to the City where you will find a traffic-free shopping centre. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing