We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Closed on 2.8.13”
Review of Rocco y Lola - CLOSED

Rocco y Lola
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
367 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,260 helpful votes
“Closed on 2.8.13”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The permanent closure of Edmund Davari's Sutton Harbour Restaurant group, including Rocco y Lola, was announced on 2nd August.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChasC_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    10
    6
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Scrummy food and fantastic value”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

We dropped by to Rocco Y Lola without a reservation early evening for a romantic anniversary meal and was greeted by fantastic service and top quality food. We were given a great spot outside overlooking the beautiful Sutton Harbour (though it was a bit windy at times!)

We went for the 6 Tapas and a bottle of wine for £35 deal and it was fantastic value for really lovely food. The portion sizes were just right and we chose (see photo):

Tempura Courgette and Aubergine
Spanish meatballs
Garlic prawns
Quesadillas with sweet potato and pinenuts
Chickpea and spinach fritters with beetroot tzatziki
Spicy chicken cakes with mango salsa

I would highly recommend this restaurant for a romantic meal, and informal brunch or a fun night out with friends (they do all you can eat deals for groups of 6 or more).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank trudle85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful food but a long wait”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We went here for our date night last night we was advised on arrival there was a 30-45 minute wait for food which we were happy with , there was only 2 tables in the whole restaurant as the weather was beautiful they put most tables outside so it was nice to have the restaurant to ourselves! We had the 2 tapas and drink for £10 deal twice and we ordered the chicken paella for 1 to share but was told this was an additional 30 mins on top of our 45 min wait making it a total of 75 mins but they did bring out our tapas first as a starter then the paella 30 mins , all the food was worth the wait it was absolutely perfect good portions and all fresh, the manager did give us a free round of drinks which we thought was nice of them , only negative was I think the English waitress could do with losing her arrogant attitude and be abit more welcoming as when she brought drinks or food she just put it down and walked away !

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sadie_les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful experience”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Unfortunately we did not have a good experience here. It took over 30 mins to be offered a drink even though the restaurant was not full so we ended up going to the bar. We waited about an hour for our food. The was no apology when it did arrive. The tapas we ordered was cold and they replaced one of the tapas dishes we wanted with something different as it was not available (surely they could've told us this before all our food arrived although this dish was very hot!) A friend's chicken and pasta dish was very bland there was certainly no sticky glaze to it. We did notice a table next to us had been waiting a long time too. The waiting staff did not come to check if everything was ok with the food. When we did finally get to settle the bill no one came over to retrieve it so again couldn't pass on our views, even though the owner was present. Very disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ams784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fantastic as always”
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful evening with delicious food. Edmund was charming as always even though they were very busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mrsmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rocco y Lola also viewed

Wembury, Plymouth
Tamerton Foliot, Plymouth
 
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing