We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food, confusing menu”

Eastern Eye Indian Restaurant
Ranked #38 of 735 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Eastern Eye Restaurant in Plymouth has been serving some of the best contemporary Indian cuisine direct from Bangladesh for over twenty years. Welcome to one of Plymouth's best loved Indian restaurants. Fresh ingredients are used wherever possible alongside the finest authentic herbs and spices shipped directly from India and Bangladesh. This means everything served in the restaurant is cooked fresh to order. At busy times there can sometimes be a short wait for your food but we always endeavour to serve you promptly. We are open on Christmas Day from 1pm - 6pm.
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Average food, confusing menu”
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Had a takeaway from here and the owner was very friendly whilst I was waiting. Menu is confusing as dishes are split under headings such as "Exotic", "Authentic", "Exclusive" and "Special House" with what appears to be a real mish-mash between them.
What I did have was OK but no better than most other curries I've had. Quite pricey for what you get.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FelthamBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    463
    123
    67
    34
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, excellent service! Best Indian restaurant in Plymouth!”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

This is probably the best Indian restaurant in Plymouth. I visited here last night for a business meeting and the staff were as always, very friendly and attentive, the food came in a timely fashion, and was to a very high standard. Would recommend this place for any occasion.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Moey03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice food but........”
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Food was nice but we asked for 3 x ciders which were priced at just over £2 each in the menu. We were asked if we wanted Magners which we didn't know was £5 per bottle.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great Indian”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

For someone who travels and eats at many different Indian restaurants around the country taking my family to an unknown one is always a gamble. When we walk in pram in tow we often put some restaurants off which adds to my humour. However just as we thought this would be another one of these experiences the staff rallied and sorted us a table and found a hiding place for our pram.
It was empty when we went in (sometimes not a good sign) but it got full very quickly so we knew we had chose well. The food was plentiful and very tasty - all the family agreed which is unusual we are a bit fussy.
Its pricy compared with other Indians I visit but you get what you pay for and you cant grumble when it tastes so good.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackostorm12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Brilliant food and service”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We visited this restaurant whilst down in Plymouth to attend a graduation. The whole meal was fantastic with excellent service. The decor is very colourful and fresh looking and liked the booth type tables. Did find the pyrex serving trays rather strange for an indian restaurant but would recommend the eastern eye to anyone who loves indian food

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank friendlytraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eastern Eye Indian Restaurant also viewed

 
Plymouth, Devon
 

Been to Eastern Eye Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing