We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Thai food and nice service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thai in the Park

Thai in the Park
Ranked #245 of 714 Restaurants in Plymouth
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Thai restaurant to dine in or takeaway. Open Tuesday to Saturday from 6pm until late. Come join us and enjoy authentic dishes prepared by our experienced Thai Chefs in relaxed surroundings. Why not try a refreshing Singha or Tiger Beer, imported all the way from Thailand or choose one of our many wines, beers or spirits.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely Thai food and nice service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

My Wife and I have been to this restaurant a number of times now - and the food is consistently good. It is somewhat tucked away but in the centre of Plymouth - not far from Sutton Harbour, the National Marine Aquarium and the Barbican. The last time we went - on a Tuesday night - it was very quiet. Which is a shame. Despite this, the food was very fresh and the service very friendly. The deep fried Monkfish special was really lovely - as was the Green Curry Chicken which is a particular favourite of my wife. The restaurant is situated above a lively pub with plenty of live music - so not that quiet on a Friday or Saturday! I thoroughly recommend this restaurant. It is the best Thai Restaurant in Plymouth in our opinion. If you are in the area we recommend you give it a try.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JonN2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    4
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United kingdom
Level Contributor
327 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,277 helpful votes
“Homely style Thai food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We come a few times a year. We like the down to earth unprecious approach and the convenience of good ales in the pub downstairs before and or after we eat. This is more like home Thai cooking than the very expensive fancy presentation in the twin competitors in Notte and Elliot Streets. Very much a matter of preference.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank PlongeurV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Really wonderful dinner with a fantastic wine list and cocktail menu. Service was great as well.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank TomP186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really good Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

This is a hidden gem. Having tried all of the Thai restaurants in the city it is far and away the best.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrealezac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not what I was expecting”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

Ate here Saturday 3rd March 2012 and was very disappointed. It had been recommended by my daughter and she was embarassed at the end of the meal. Very greasy with 1 dish having poor quality chicken and 1 dish quite watery. It's a strange set up above a pub and I'm sure there must be better Thai restaurants in the city.
Soup to start was good along with one of the Thai curries.
Shame really I was expecting more.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank BidBristol_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justyle, Web Admin at Thai in the Park, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for your review and apologies on behalf of the staff.
Your experience falls beneath the standards that we try to uphold and we will be reviewing this with the staff on duty during your visit. I do hope that the positive reviews of your daughter and others on Trip Advisor may encourage you to give us another try. If you do come back, do let us know of your previous experience and we will endeavour to make sure that we make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai in the Park also viewed

 

Been to Thai in the Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing