We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest-House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Lodge Guest House
Ranked #11 of 79 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We have nothing but praise for this guest house. It's within walking distance of the city centre.

We were made very welcome by our hosts and the room was clean and the beds extremely comfortable. The en-suite was really clean and we had a good supply of towels every day

For breakfast we chose full English, but there was an excellent choice of cereals and yogurts, tea, coffee or whatever we required.

Hope to return soon - it's really friendly.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back. It was quiet and had a view over Plymouth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jomobos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 151 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2013

Myself and my friends stayed here after our graduation. The lovely couple that run the alma lodge are incredibly friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean, homely and comfortable and the breakfast the next morning was delishious (with a huge amount to choose from). Thank you very much. I would recommend this to anyone as it is in walking distance to the train station, city and the university.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E479
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night and we were not dissapointed. The owner met us at the front door, she was very welcoming and friendly, We were shown to our room at the back of the property (through the conservatory) which we were also welcomed to use. Had a bit of a shock to find their pet tortoise (I think his name was Terrance) in the conservatory, he was amazing and let me pat his head! We found our room very clean and comfortable, lovely en-suite with fresh towels, it all looked brand new. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic, full English, also cereals, yogurts, toast, fruit juice to choose from, nice big mug of tea/coffee. I will Definately be staying here again, great value for money, the owner and her daughter were absolutely lovely, and so was Terrance :-) Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefalaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Like home from home so lovely clean excellent food lovely staff had a room with an amazing bubble bath in it which was excellent for my bad back slept very well was very helpful on places to go and see and eat would love to go again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynsey rice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here for two nights for the Firework Championships. The town was only about 15 minutes walk away (although buses run regularly past the guest house. Friendly welcome, comfy bed and lovely breakfast. Would definately stay there again if we needed a guest house in Plymouth.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed for two nights. Everything was great. good location Room was clean amd comfy. The owners were friendly and helpful. Even though on a busy road I could not hear the traffic and had a sound night's sleep. I thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kay s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My family and I have stayed at Alma Lodge twice now - both times for one night due to visiting Plymouth Uni - and we love it! The location is just a 10 minute walk into the city centre and Uni and although is located just before a main road, don't let that put you off. On our first stay we were located at the front of the house with the road outside our window, but we couldn't hear a thing and slept very soundly!

The owners are fantastically friendly and were very open to giving guidance, advice and were generally great hosts. The rooms are clean, comfortable and tastefully decorated with the bathroom also looked after very well. If you're looking for simply just a place to rest your head without too many amenities or fancy extras then this place is great value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
2,097 reviews
1 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,620 reviews
1 mi away
Caledonia Guest House
Caledonia Guest House
#17 of 79 in Plymouth
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Barbican Reach
Barbican Reach
#8 of 79 in Plymouth
247 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
1 mi away
Jewells Guest House
Jewells Guest House
#12 of 79 in Plymouth
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Guest House

Address: 125 Alma Road | Milehouse, Plymouth PL3 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 79 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range: $81 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Alma Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing