We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, a nice play to stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alma Lodge Guest House
Ranked #11 of 78 Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very friendly, a nice play to stay.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

My wife and I visited Plymouth for a "trip down memory lane", our first time back in the city for 39 years.We found the Alma Guest House just up Alma Road from where we had our flat. an excellent location for walking down to Plymouth but also on the main bus routes.We received a great welcome.The room was very nice with all the necessary facilities and spotlessly clean.Very good breakfast with a wide choice.
Parking is also very handy.
Alma Lodge Guest House really made our long delayed visit to Plymouth a great success.Many thanks to Paula for her kind hospitality.

Barbara and Jim

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    32
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
43
36
21
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012

After two nights camping it was great 2 be able to have a proper bed and a shower rooms had everything we needed apart from a haidryer which I'm sure would have been provided if asked as the owners were very amenable

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iorathandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed for two nights to attend to some family business and then move on for our holiday. Alma Lodge met our needs for both purposes: very convenient location for the city, railway station and roads out, nice-sized, quiet room at the back of the house, and very clean. Only one towel per person; but that was fine for our short stay. Good breakfast with adequate choice, though we found it unusual for tea and coffee to be served up directly rather than in a pot (as we have normally seen in guest houses). However, that was fine for us. Paula and Tony were friendly and helpful and easy to get on with. Parking looked a bit limited, but in fact was better than first appeared, with additional space in the quiet side street next to the house. All in all, it suited us very well, and compared with many alternatives was very good value for money. We will certainly consider staying here when we come down to Plymouth again, and would be happy to recommend Alma Lodge to others. Thank you, Paula and Tony!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back; it might be quieter, as Alama Road is very busy at peak times. However...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night, good size room, what you would expect from a B&B. Clean and tidy.
Towels nice and white and crisp.
Good bed and linen.
Breakfast was good and plenty of choice..
Not a bad location. Parking ok with on site or on side road..
This guest house is worth a visit, well done. We would stay again.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Knocker874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

Enjoyed our stay here. First night was spoilt by noisy French guests above us but we were given the option to move and had a better room for the remainder of the stay. Breakfast was very good and location was good to the city centre being about 20 minutes to the Hoe . Made very welcome and liked having the parking too.We would recommend this Guest House.

Room Tip: Liked room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie282000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 1, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at this lovely B&B for 2 nights. The circumstances of the visit were not as a vacation but to attend a family funeral. Because of this I can't speak to the location in reference to places to see, etc., but I can say that we couldn't have chosen a better place to stay. The guest house is very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We had everything we needed. The rooms have plenty of space and storage. I was able to unload my suitcase and store everything away. Having the bathroom facilities en-suite was a plus. Wifi is available (I didn't use it but was offered). The guest house is situated on a main road but we didn't have any problem with noise. Our room was upstairs in the back of the house w/ a double and a single bed. Lovely place, lovely hostess. I definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Von L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level Contributor
99 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed for a couple of nights earlier this month and thought this was a nice place. The room was modern, spacious and very clean. The owners were very welcoming and provided a nice breakfast. About a 15 minute walk to town and 10 minutes to Plymouth Argyle Football Stadium.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris A A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Plymouth hotels
2.6 mi away
Future Inn Plymouth
Future Inn Plymouth
#7 of 21 in Plymouth
1,903 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Plymouth
Jurys Inn Plymouth
#8 of 21 in Plymouth
2,298 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Mountbatten Hotel
The Mountbatten Hotel
#18 of 21 in Plymouth
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Phantele Bed & Breakfast
1.0 mi away
Rainbow Lodge
Rainbow Lodge
#7 of 78 in Plymouth
278 reviews
1.2 mi away
Old Pier House
Old Pier House
#38 of 78 in Plymouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alma Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alma Lodge Guest House

Property: Alma Lodge Guest House
Address: 125 Alma Road | Milehouse, Plymouth PL3 4HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Plymouth
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alma Lodge Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Book Direct Rooms and Orbitz so you can book your Alma Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing