We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem!”
Review of The B-bar

The B-bar
Ranked #130 of 736 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Description: The B-Bar is Plymouth's most theatrical watering hole, residing in the Barbican Theatre, up a cobbly lane in the heart of Plymouth's cultural quarter: The Barbican. By day, the B-Bar is a Thai Noodle Bar, offering fresh'n'funky Noodle Boxes and fresh-cooked specials from 12noon, seven days a week. In the evening, the B-Bar hosts live music and performance of world music, jazz, blues, acoustic and folk, with some cabaret thrown in too.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a Gem!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I recently ate here on a Friday evening with my friend from work. The atmosphere was brilliant and I loved the quirky style of the place. The food did not disappoint and was delicious and very reasonable. My friend commented that it was some of the nicest Thai she'd eaten since being in Thailand. The service was friendly and efficient and topped off a very pleasent experience. If you want a fun a sociable evening that's a little bit different then I cannot reccomend this highly enough.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Misscjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    69
    23
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good Thai”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

My husband rates this as the best green curry he has had and believe me he has had a good many around the world. Its a cheap no frills type of place with really good healthy food all cooked fresh to order. I have had many meals here and non have disappointed. Need to book as lots of other people know its secret so maybe writing a review means less chance of a table. Well enjoy this place if you are in Plymouth and want a departure from fish and chips

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“The owner (the Richard O Brien look-a-like) has an attitude problem.”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went here the other evening with my Brother , the food is amazing , really really nice for the little money you pay . It’s a cool place to hang out .

The owner’s the only problem , now I know this I’ll be as dismissive of him in the future as he was towards me. Him aside I will continue to eat here , the food’s that good.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank justlovesfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“nice for a drink”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

food average and not cheap. Enjoyed the live entertainment wine expensive . Very busy not many tables

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yelverton, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing pre-gig food.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went to the B bar last night for some pre gig dinner.
The Bar staff were very polite and attentive.
The drinks were a very reasonable price and they had a very good range of spirits to keep the non beer drinkers happy.
The menu is extensive and through with different 'spice' options and the waiter was very helpful hepling one of our party choose his dish.
Once we had ordered the food came out really quickly, it was suoer hot (temperature) and you could tell it had been cooked fresh.
We were all really happy with our meals and (maybe a few too many) prawn crackers (you should definitely try them they are brilliant)

Really relaxed atmosphere.
Great staff.
Great Thai food. Try it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The B-bar also viewed

 

Been to The B-bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing