We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing pre-gig food.”
Review of The B-bar

The B-bar
Ranked #114 of 722 Restaurants in Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $13
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The B-Bar is Plymouth's most theatrical watering hole, residing in the Barbican Theatre, up a cobbly lane in the heart of Plymouth's cultural quarter: The Barbican. By day, the B-Bar is a Thai Noodle Bar, offering fresh'n'funky Noodle Boxes and fresh-cooked specials from 12noon, seven days a week. In the evening, the B-Bar hosts live music and performance of world music, jazz, blues, acoustic and folk, with some cabaret thrown in too.
Yelverton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amazing pre-gig food.”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I went to the B bar last night for some pre gig dinner.
The Bar staff were very polite and attentive.
The drinks were a very reasonable price and they had a very good range of spirits to keep the non beer drinkers happy.
The menu is extensive and through with different 'spice' options and the waiter was very helpful hepling one of our party choose his dish.
Once we had ordered the food came out really quickly, it was suoer hot (temperature) and you could tell it had been cooked fresh.
We were all really happy with our meals and (maybe a few too many) prawn crackers (you should definitely try them they are brilliant)

Really relaxed atmosphere.
Great staff.
Great Thai food. Try it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Abi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    68
    22
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Thai curry- 'As hot as it comes my friend'”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great relaxed atmosphere, local art work, Thai food and live comedy/music nights too. Been many times for each. Thai food yummy, however be careful if you ask for hot curry, you definately get it. My husbands best mate asked for his Thai green curry 'as hot as it comes my friend', I'm not sure quite how they managed to put that many chillies in anything, but they did. I ordered the hot one too, as I hate being disappointed by no heat in a medium curry.....It tasted delicious but I just couldn't eat it, it was painful.. Lesson learned, I will return and stick to medium. Always very tasty and good value, good service too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“good Thai”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Little bar/ music venue in a theatre which does good Thai food. Nice to eat in but also does take away. Has a nice area (the nest) with benches and cushions if you go at a quiet time it is a fun place to sit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank plymouth08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swanage, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A very good ambiance.”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Very lovely staff, with a very cool attitude but also very helpful. The very sort of person I would want to be served by. A great ambiance with even better food. :)

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mokk7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Naked Thai as it shoul be!!!!”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Food here is great, really tasty and excellent value for money!
They seem to change some meals but the standard is always top draw!
Drinks are reasonably priced and the desserts are huge!
Great for families but equally good for the start of a night out, worth a visit!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The B-bar also viewed

 

Been to The B-bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing