We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Very enjoyable”
other travelers have booked this property
Arlington bungalows
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Arlington bungalows
Play area Play area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
8 reviews
Arlington bungalows
Play area
Play area
The folly in our grounds
Gardens
Gardens
Games room
Entrance to Dean Steep
View
Arlington open plan lounge/ kitchen
Arlington lounge
Bluebell corner
Bridge over our ponds
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Lynton, Exmoor National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Stephen C
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very enjoyable”
Reviewed September 29, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a lovely stay, Richard and Teresa welcomed us on arrival and was friendly and helpful.The bungalow was comfortable and had everything we needed within a lovely setting. We visited Lynton,Lynmouth,Barnstable, Ilfracombe,Clovelly,Bude and Port Isaac.we recommend the Station house inn situated between Lynton and Ilfracombe also the Landmark theatre in Ilfracombe. Will be recommending Dean Steep and hope to return.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quiet location
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 11, 2016
Thank you for leaving a review and for your recommendations. We are pleased you had a good time and hope to see you again in the future.
Teresa and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frazzledr...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful family break”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

The cottages are set high up offering beautiful views, cottage was clean and spacious with a fully equipped kitchen. We cooked lunch and breakfast at the cottage most days of our six night stay. We bought additional electricity, the meter already had five pounds on and we ended up using about ten pounds for the duration of our stay. There is outside seating, we ate sitting outside most days enjoying the sunshine and the gorgeous view. We used the offered laundry room as well and kids borrowed a couple of DVDs over the duration of the stay.
Stay is within easy access to Lynton & Lynmouth and there are lots of places to visit.
Cottage owners also offered cream teas & ice creams for a small fee. We arrived to delicious home baked cupcakes as a welcome, a really lovely touch. Our stay was wonderful, the cottage was snug and warm and the owners very welcoming. Would definitely recommend for a quiet out of the way retreat.

Date of stay: August 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2016
Thank you for your lovely review. We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Teresa and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arepamaan
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really convenient with baby”
Reviewed July 24, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We stayed here for three nights with a baby. It was great to have more space than in a hotel or b&b, and the setting is really relaxing (with fields just next to the property, through which you can walk down to Lynton/ Lynmouth in 20 minutes). The kitchen is basic, but totally fine to make a simple lunch or supper. Each apartment has a little outside space. Oh yes - and the owners are really friendly, and have tried to cater for lots of things (there's a table tennis table, book and DVD library, and cream teas available to order...). Overall very glad that we stayed here.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you for leaving a review. It was good to meet you and your baby and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel1952
Bewdley
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Oh! The View”
Reviewed September 1, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great welcome and ideal location. The views from Dean Steep are stunning, who needs T.V? On our first morning we watched 4 foxes in one field for over 40 minutes, later in the holiday we saw three stags two hinds, one with a young calf in the next field. We have a young Labrador and the fields behind our lodging were ideal and safe walking for him. Dean Steep is a few minutes drive from both Lynton and Lynmouth The walk via The Valley of Rocks into Lynton has stunning views along the coast but you need to be reasonably fit to walk back, the road is very steep.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Nothing to do with the property but some of the nearby roads are one track with high hedges leaving lots of blind bends
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
potsnpots
Bewdley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 5, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

After a weeks stay with our 5 year old grandson we were very satisfied with our experience at Dean Steep. The accommodation, though not luxurious is spotlessly clean,comfortable and very well equipped, more so than most self catering units.
Facilities for families are excellent with things to occupy everyone even in wet weather. The owners are on site, very personable and most accommodating.
Location is very convenient for Exmoor, beaches and walking and is very peaceful, quiet and with lovely views.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The wind.
Traveling group: Young Children
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benknight...
1 review
“A lovely comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed July 29, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We had a lovely week in North Devon. Theresa and Richard were very welcoming with home cakes on arrival to boot! The views are stunning with easy access in the car. The apartment itself was warm and comfortable and had everything we needed for the week.

Date of stay: July 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to do a review. It was good to meet you and your family and we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your week here.
Teresa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caroline...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We recently stayed at Dean Steep for a short break. The owners were very helpful in planning our stay with two young children prior to arrival, and very welcoming and helpful during our stay. The accommodation was very clean with beautiful views over the surrounding countryside and had a nice play area and lots of open fields for children to play. The local area is very picturesque with beautiful walks and also plenty to do with a young family. We will definitely look to return in the future.

Date of stay: May 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to review Dean Steep. It was lovely meeting you and your children and we're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again. Teresa and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing