We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sinai House
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (289)
Filter reviews
289 results
Traveler rating
269
18
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
269
18
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshonesty barhosts debbiewarm welcomeelectric carsteep hillmade us feelfresh fruitwelsh coastgreat hostsfull englishnothing is too much troublenew ownerscoastal viewsvisiting lyntontop floorsmoked salmonhuge choice
Filter
Updating list...
195 - 200 of 289 reviews
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We only stayed for one night but it seemed as though nothing was too much trouble for Debbie and Nigel. We were allowed into our room very early as it was ready which helped us get sorted to go and explore Lynton & Lynmouth. Our room was comfortable with everything we needed inluding a fantastic view. The grounds are wonderful and a great place to sit and relax if you have the time. Breakfast was great and plentiful. We would definitely stay here again.
We would also recommend Lynton as the place to stay rather than Lynmouth as it just has a nicer feel. You can walk up and down between the two or if you prefer use the water powered tram instead!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellphooey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. So pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It was lovely to meet you both. As you say Lynton is a very special and beautiful place. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been staying in Lynton almost every year for the past twenty or more. I've never had a bad experience, but Sinai House has to be the best yet. We had a few problems with the booking, with emails going missing, but all was sorted amicably and with good humour. I didn't see much of Nigel during my stay, but Debbie was an excellent and very personable hostess, with great attention to detail. The room, a single, was clean, quiet, well presented and had an excellent view. Unusually these days, the bed had sheets and blankets rather than the ubiquitous duvet. More work for the staff, but very comfortable! Although Sinai House does offer evening meals, I ate out, but the breakfast was certainly very good, and all freshly prepared. I certainly got the impression that Debbie really enjoys her work, and that nothing is too much trouble for her in ensuring her guests enjoy their stay. I will certainly be returning on my next trip to Lynton.

Room Tip: The singles have an en-suite shower, but the WC (for the room's sole use) is separate and across the hall. Not a problem for most, and part of the Victorian charm. All the others are fully en-suite, and all have views across the Bristol Channel (weather permitting!)
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Old_Kent_Biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was lovely meet you, after all the fun and games with had with you disappearing into cyber space! It was a lovely weekend for the gala, so pleased that you enjoyed being based here us here. We look forward to seeing you again.Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a very nice time at Sinai House! We stayed for one night on a road trip. Debbie is lovely and very helpful, she happily provides a lot of useful information, about restaurants or nice walks nearby (e.g. Valley of Rocks). The room we had was quite large, with a beautiful sea view (and nice huge window!), with an old-fashioned decoration (some like it, some don’t), very clean, with a comfy bed and nice linen. The English breakfast was very good, with a gluten-free option for my girlfriend. All in all we had a very nice stay and we would definitely recommend it to anyone visiting Lynton. Tip: it is not always easy to find the house, you need to come from Sinai Hill and then turn into Lynway. Don’t turn into Lynway from Lynbridge road, you can’t drive all the way through Lynway. Another solution is to park in the big car park in Lynton, just downhill from the house, or in another street nearby. That way you avoid the narrow and quite steep Sinai Hill road.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoloEtVio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. One night never seems long enough to see everything Lynton & Lynmouth has to offer, but you got a lot in! When I e-mail our guests a confirmation I always add the directions to Sinai House, and explain why. Lynway is narrow, but it is easier then it looks, once you have done it, it's never as bad! It is a huge asset to us to have on-sight parking, as not many guest houses have private parking. This area is renouned for hills, which is why people to come to visit, English Switzerland!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

Received very warm welcome from Debbie on arrival and felt very relaxing throughout the stay. Nice view of the sea and beautiful sunshine in the room. I must admit I'm usually picky about the cleanliness but it was rather satisfactory this time. Love the fact that they do an honest bar as well. We were even allowed to leave the car in their car park after checked out till afternoon which though may only save us a fiver but it was the thoughts that really count!! The only thing maybe there was no wifi in our room on the top floor as mentioned by Debbie at the very beginning. Well not a big deal really as it was probably better stay away from Facebook and emails for once...just chilax and enjoy :)) Big thank you to Debbie!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonic_Ying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded May 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. It was lovely to meet you both. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Take care, Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We decided on the spur of the moment to spend the night in Lynton so that we could do 2 long walks in and around Exmoor without having the 3-hour return journey on one day. We wanted somewhere that was good value and had my 1,2,3 essentials: cleanliness; high quality white cotton sheets and towels and a great breakfast. Sinai House had all these and more. Our large room had a super view over towards the sea, there was a very comfortable sitting-room where we were given tea and home-made biscuits on arrival, and Debbie and Nigel were everything B&B hosts should be.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SfromDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndeeva, Owner at Sinai House, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are so lucky the walks around us are amazing, Take care, Debbie.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews