We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing,Will be back.”
Review of Sinai House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sinai House
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Appin, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing,Will be back.”
Reviewed July 20, 2011

This family run business is so welcoming and friendly it will be difficult to give it credit in a few lines,
Rooms,very clean.with wonderful views,we liked the little homely touches about the place especially the main lounge and the dining room, TRY THE SCRAMBLED EGGS AND SMOKED SALMON AT BREAKFAST.
You can walk down through the gardens to the heart of the village,theres a well stocked shop and pub,but to be honest we were happy to get back to Sinai and relax there We will go back.

Room Tip: We were in room 4 but all have great views and are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melrosesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    19
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
156
33
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

Owners couldn't have been more welcoming. Really enjoyed our stay. Lovely place.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phildilworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Sinai House is a wonderful guest house, the location is fantastic and the owners couldn't be friendlier.
We stayed in late June and found that the new owners had only been there a couple of weeks, but it seemed like they had been running the place for years. Nothing was too much trouble for them.

The rooms are spotless and very well-equipped with everything you would need, including TV, tea and coffee facilities and free wifi. Our room had a fantastic sea view and really comfy bed.

Breakfast was absolutely delicious with lots to choose from, all freshly cooked. The breakfast room is very tastefuly decorated and has wonderful views of the sea and, on a clear day, Wales.
They also do evening meals, we eat there one evening and the dinner was just as good as the breakfast and very reasonably priced. Excellent wine list to choose from also!
After dinner we had a drink in the bar which is a lovely place to round off your evening, again drinks very well priced.

The guest house is at the top of a hill and has free parking. You can wander down to Lynton village and get the cliff railway down to Lynmouth. There are also lots of beautiful hiking trails and the owners will happily give advice on these.

We had a lovely restful break at Sinai House and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DHobUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2011

A little difficult to locate at first, but not a problem once there and well worth finding!
The hosts have only been there 3 weeks but you would think that's all they've ever done, as everything is so in order! Also very friendly and helpful.
Hotel and bedrooms are immaculate with great views across the Bristol Channel towards the Welsh coast.
Anybody fond of a good breakfast will not be disappointed here, as the hotel serves up a cracker and was really well cooked.
This is a beautiful part of North Devon and you won't go far wrong if you choose to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz1mazYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

My parents and I spent one night in Sinai House on our way to Cornwall 2 weeks ago and I would highly recommend it. It has stunning views of the bay and the family running it could literally not have been nicer! The rooms are a good size and very nicely decorated, with tea, coffee and biscuits available in each one.

We were able to meet other people staying there in the honesty bar downstairs and there was a very good, friendly atmosphere. It is the perfect stay for a traditional English get-away. I can safely say that my only regret was not having booked another night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJDeitb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We booked this accommodation through the local information office, and what a delightful surprise it turned out to be. The new owners have only been there for three weeks, and we were greeted, and treated, like family. All rooms have sensational views towards the Welsh Coast, which we were fortunate to see on our visit.
The short trip up the hill to Sinai House is a challenge for even the most experienced driver, but car parking is also available in the lower public car park if you can manage your luggage up the steep path to the property.
The rooms were simply stunning, with quality furnishings, and were quiet and comfortable. It was great to have space to spread yourself, and the chairs overlooking the view were welcome and comfortable.
Everything was simply wonderful, with every possible detail attended to, great breakfast,honesty system for drinks and lovely surroundings. Absolutely 10/10

Room Tip: Every room has great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NodrogSouthAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2010

We stayed during the autumn school half-term break and were surprised how quiet the area was, the hotel included (we had the whole top floor to ourselves).
The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Breakfast was full and proper (best fried bread ever), well cooked and served in a very relaxed setting.
The dining room has beautiful sea & coastal views, as did our rooms.

What we really liked about this little gem of a hotel was the fact that it was not pretentious in any way. Everything was basic, yet sufficient and pleasant, yet exactly right. (the only thing we couldn't get working was one of the TVs, probably because we pressed the wrong buttons, but we soon gave up, as who would want to watch the box if you can wonder downhill to the town and eat & drink the local produce?

The staff were brilliant - nothing was too much trouble.
We had a great time here and would not hesitate in booking again.

One thing to be aware of is the narrow road to the hotel. If you miss this and carry on up the hill (as we did, of course) you'd better have a suitable car to navigate the very steep hill before you reach Station Hill!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staghunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.3 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinai House

Property: Sinai House
Address: Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sinai House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 1860s, this beautiful Victorian gentlemen's residence is set high up above the lovely town of Lynton, in Exmoor. With views over the sea, on a clear day you can see the Welsh coast! Set in an acre of terraced gardens, you can sit outside for tea and cake or a cold drink from our licensed bar. Stay in and enjoy our wine and local ales! Have a bar snack or walk down the short path into the village to eat in one of the many eateries. We have our own car park. Choose from one of our 8 bedrooms, all with sea views. 2 Kings en-suite, 2 Doubles en-suite, 1 twin/SKing en-suite, 1 single ensuite and 2 single with private facilities. Our buffet breakfast is a fresh fruit salad, fresh croissants, yogurts, cereals some homemade goodies and juices, then you can choose from the extensive hot menu. There is so much to do in this beautiful area and a lot of history. We are just above the South West Coast Path. Look forward to welcoming you. AA 4 star Silver rating ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sinai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinai Hotel Lynton
Sinai House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing