We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This pub restaurant could not be better.”
Review of The Cottage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottage Inn
Ranked #16 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We visited in the summer from our holiday let in Lynton and the recommendation of the taxi driver. Obviously under new management with the chef straight out of college, the service and food were really fantastic. The olde worlde look of the place was further enhanced by the trickling river just outside of the window alongside our table. We will definitely be going there again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 65 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed 6 nights in the log-cabins next door to the pub on honeymoon, and visited the pub most nights, three times for an evening meal. The hosts were very friendly, as were all the bar staff, and couldn't have done more for us. Food is excellent quality and good value, with a nice atmosphere. Restaurant section of the pub was fairly full most nights so worth booking if you want to be sure of a table, and if you get one by the window it comes with a beautiful view of the river.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vanuatuaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the friendly campsite next to the pub and went to the inn for a drink. Decided to stay and have a dessert and we were asked to move to a smaller table as the landlord wanted our table, which was fine, but he was a bit abrupt and unfriendly the way he asked. The girl behind the bar could have smiled a bit too. The main dinning area had a very strong smell of drains. Not the greatest of experiences and would go somewhere else instead.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank RLCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Had a meal here for our wedding anniversary. It was very good. Don't be put off by the fairly limited on-line menu as they have daily specials - about 8 when we visited, including 2 fish dishes plus lobster (which was delicious), 2 veggie, 2 meat and a 'bargain meal' (forget the term they used). Prices were reasonable (half a lobster was £13.50) and staff very friendly. Well worth a try.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This was our 4th trip to lyn bridge and only the 2nd time it was open. The new owners Paul & Clare are excellent hosts & their staff really friendly. The pub has now reverted back to its original name The Cottage Inn & they have refurbished it beautifully, a nice, warm cosy traditional pub. We stayed for a week at the neighbouring campsite & ended up eating there 6 times as the food was so good & the atmosphere really enjoyable. Do not miss out on this little treasure!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Escotchbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

This pub has had its ups and downs since we have been visiting Lynton. However, it's just reopened with new owners. The landlord was friendly and welcoming, the beer was good, the interior has been refurbished. We were very impressed. The barmaids were fun, with excellent customer service skills. The food looked good too, although, to be fair, we haven't eaten there yet - we certainly plan to on a future visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CityBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Was undergoing refurbishment but new owners were friendly and enthusiastic about their plans. Whilst venue has a way to go yet the food was lovely including the fish specials which the landlord had caught fresh that morning. We stayed very close to the pub. We wish them well with their venture and hope to return one day to see the finished works!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angelamusic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
0.6 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
0.4 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage Inn

Address: Cottage Inn | Lynbridge, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6NR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $82 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Cottage Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage inn is under new management, it's a stunning inn overlooking a river, It is a family run business and has a Thai restaurant serving fresh Thai food during evenings in a riverside restaurant. Our Menu is not huge but everything is cooked using fresh vegetables and meat from local suppliers, our style of food is based more around street food than fine dining, we hope that our atmosphere is relaxed, this then gives a true feeling of how Thai people enjoy their food. The Cottage inn is also a small guest house and has a beer garden overlooking the river where light lunch snacks such as baguettes, home made pies and other items are served daily. We welcome every customer to visit us, please do remember when deciding if you would like to book a table that our approach is not fine dining, just simple fresh Thai food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Cottage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bridge Hotel Lynton
The Cottage Inn Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing