We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very relaxing holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pine Lodge Guest House
Ranked #4 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
North Wales
1 review
“Very relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed with my daughter for four nights from the 19 th of August. We were welcomed with an afternoon tea with lemon drizzle cake after a long journey. Our stay was very enjoyable and we made the most of the many local walks spotting deer , goat and the odd fox on our travels. Breakfast excellent as is the service and standard of rooms.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Impact_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    18
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
267
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our first time visiting North-Devon. Lynton and Lynmouth is really worth paying a visit if you like hiking, fresh air, silence and the most beautiful green (the moors) and blue (the ocean) views. The little towns are really pretty.
Our stay in Lynton was perfect thanks to the kindness and helpful hosts at the Pine Lodge Guest House. The owners, John and Linda are kind and always prepared to help you with all the information you need about the area. We came unprepared and did not plan anything for our three day stay, but thanks to John's good advice and information about different hiking trails (do's and don'ts!) we got the most out of it. We will definitely be back to see more of this beautiful part of Devon.
The home-cooked breakfast was very tasty and lots to choose from: fresh fruits, home made yoghurt, fresh eggs and lot's more. Also very important: good quality coffee! The view from the breakfast room is great. You can see deer grazing while you eat your scrambled eggs and if you want to have a closer look, just use the binoculars which is laying around in the lounging area. The room gave us a very homey feeling and it was clean. It is a good quality bed with clean sheets.
Last but not least, Linda and John own a very sweet and trained dog. If you are not into dogs, don't let his presence scare you of. It is the sweetest and well trained dog we ever met! He doesn't enter the guest area and he is trained not to jump up your legs.
We will definitely stay at the Pine Lodge Guest House again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandE_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed at the pine lodge for two nights and had a wonderful weekend. My husband is coeliac and we had gluten free fairy cakes on arrival and gluten free biscuits were provided as well as the provision of cereal, bread and sausages for breakfast. The cakes and biscuits were a real sign that they were prepared to go the extra mile and was really appreciated. They also pointed us in the right direction for a lovely meal out and dried off our very wet shoes for us. The accommodation was lovely, we were given some pointers for lovely walks and could not have wished for better hosts.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DENISE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed at Pine Lodge for two nights 11th/12th August in room 5 and had a fantastic time. After being stuck in trafffic on M5 we arrived fed up and tired, We were greeted by John and asked if we would like Tea/Coffee and shown to our room. We came downstairs to the lounge to find Coffee and homemade cake waiting for us which was lovely and we switched immediately into holiday mood. John then came to greet us again to check if we were happy with the room and pointed out local places to see and walk and also best restaurants to eat at. The room itself was extremely large with a seperate T V lounge which had sofa and 40" T V and Tea/Coffee making facilities and very large bathroom. Everything was beyond spotlessly clean infact it felt that we were the first people to use everything, which is what you should feel like when staying in an Hotel or B and B but unfortunately dont most times. The breakfast was first class and had a good choice from the traditional "full english" to fresh fruit and homemade yogurt, and in large portions ,we probably ate too much because we could'nt eat again until late afternoon for the obligatory cream tea. It also is in a fantastic location within a 10 minute walk to Lynton and the funicular railway down to lynmouth. What is very important is the fact it has a private car park with enough space for each room, John even came out to help guide us in the space to allow for other people to park. On checkout we met Lynn who came to say hello and sorry that she had'nt seen us before because she as the impotant back of house job ( cooking/cleaning and making great cakes) but we had only been there two days and were out most of the day but had a nice chat and assured them we shall return asap. also they have a wonderfull spaniel called Bertie who greets everyone when they arrive and is very friendly ( could easily have taken him home). According to trip advisor this place is ranked 4th, but I cannot believe that apparently their are three places better than this.... NO WAY !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laplaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

You can't do better than a few days away at the Pine Lodge for a completely relaxing break. Set amid the pine woods you can hear the river rushing in the valley as proprietor John lends you a pair of binoculars to see the deer on the moor, maybe a buzzard or two and the odd tawny owl.
The house itself is spotless and furnished to a high standard. My room was fantastic with a double bed and an adjoining lounge with sofa, coffee table and large tv, leading into a wonderful bathroom.
But the best of it all for me was the complete care I received. Being a pain in the neck coeliac, I need a gluten free diet -- and this was absolutely no problem for John and Linda -- I even had gluten free sausages for the magnificent breakfast. I was met with a gluten free cupcake Linda made herself -- which was so kind and I really appreciated it. I would really recommend Pine Lodge to anyone on a gluten free diet. Linda is a great chef -- just ask about the chilli jam -- you'll want to take some home!
Just down the road is nice pub restaurant where you can get a lovely meal in the evening.
Pine Lodge is great. I just think the standard of the stay and the warmth of the hosts in this most beautiful part of the world cannot be bettered anywhere. And with the reasonable cost of the room it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pansette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

I recently had a few nights at Pine Lodge and although I have been there before, there are still a lot of surprises that make the visit well worth it. Many thanks have to be given to John and Linda for the extra touches they provide and not forgetting Bertie who always enjoys a rub around the ears.

The area is fabulous in all weathers and the coastal paths are beautiful no matter what sort of day it is. After a good walk there's nothing better than relaxing at Pine Lodge. I will be back...

Room Tip: They're all great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Unbrandedcow23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was an overnight stay on a walking holiday. We arrived footsore and weary and were met with a warm and personal welcome and every assistance. Even our soggy boots were whisked away to return dry the next day. The room was spacious and comfortable with a proper bath and a lovely valley view. Breakfast the next day was plentiful and delicious, with top quality ingredients and plenty of fresh fruit. Location is far enough out of town to escape the noise, near enough to be in the centre in 5 minutes easy walk. Pub 2 minutes walk away. The whole experience was very enjoyable and 100% better in every respect than our next night's stay.

Room Tip: Our valley view room was spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miltonhunty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.6 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pine Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pine Lodge Guest House

Property: Pine Lodge Guest House
Address: Pine Lodge Lynway, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pine Lodge Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Pine Lodge in Lynton, Devon. Pine Lodge is a Four-Star Silver Victorian Gentleman's residence, set on the valley side of the West Lyn river, with fantastic views over the wooded hillside of the Watersmeet Estate. It is situated along the Lynway, which affords views over Lynton and Lynmouth, just a few minutes easy walk from the town. Here you will be able to relax, unwind and sleep peacefully, as the only sounds are those of the river tumbling over the rocks below and bird song in the morning. Footpaths to Exmoor start at our own front door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pine Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pine Lodge Guest House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing