We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Very Comfortable Stay”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Stourbridge
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Very Comfortable Stay”
Reviewed June 10, 2010

We have just returned from 7 nights BB&D at Seawood Hotel, having first researched feedback from Trip Advisor, and can endorse the positive comments that we found there.
You can certainly expect a warm welcome from the proprietors, Russ & Kerinda. They are enthusiastic and do seem to genuinely enjoy running the hotel although it must be very hard work for them.
They have achieved a good deal in the 18 months that they have been running it, having updated and improved many of the rooms, whilst at the same time respecting and preserving the many original features of this fine old house.
Our room benefited from a spacious bathroom which had recently been refitted to a very high standard indeed! The bathroom boasted both a bath with shower over, and a separate shower cubicle containing two individual shower heads. There was also a large hand basin sitting on a modern glass plinth. My only disappointment was the lack of truly piping hot water. It was warm enough for a shower or a wash but not really hot enough for a long soak in the bath. This seems a shame given that the bathroom was such a splendid feature of the room.
The hotel is very well run. Everywhere seems spotlessly clean, and the kitchen seems to run like clockwork with no long waits between courses, or cold food being served. There is a varied menu. Five courses being served for dinner each evening, including an amuse bouche and a sorbet
The hotel is situated on sloping grounds with magnificent views over the bay from many of the bedrooms, and from the bar, lounge and dining room. Outside is a terrace overlooking the bay. The sloping garden has a winding footpath which leads to a garden gate a few paces from the top of the cliff top railway.
I would recommend a stay there to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oldswinford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    33
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
253
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I would not normally choose to stay in small, personal hotels but was extremely pleased with our choice to stay at The Seawood Hotel. Russ and Kerinda were warm and welcoming from the moment we arrived and even found somewhere safe for us to keep our bikes - not that you needed to with such a beautiful location.

The hotel is ideally situated to explore Exmoor with the path to the The Valley of the Rocks starting one side of the hotel and the Lynmouth and Lynton Cliff Railway on the other.

After a full day out cycling we returned to dinner at the hotel. I did feel like we should venture out and make the most of our holiday but after reading other reviews on trip advisor about the food we chose to try it. Kerinda cooked the best meal I have had in a long time with little extra touches such as the sorbet and amuse bouche showed the love and care that went into the meal. We then sat in the bar with the other guests and Russ & Kerinda whilst they entertained us all like personal friends.

We then tried out the sauna on the top floor which was an unusual but nice addition to the hotel.

On our final morning the sun was shining so we were able to enjoy the yummy and varied breakfast on the hotel's terrace over looking the sea. Perfect end!

Give this hotel a try - you wont be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KimAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2010

Great hotel, and value for money. Beautiful and comfortable bedrooms and public areas. The owners are charming and very helpful. It also helps that the hotel's location is perfect....wonderful views and a stroll away from The Valley of the Rocks. We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bleunez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2010

My girlfriend and I wanted to get away for a romantic treat. We chose the Seawood Hotel because of all of the excellent revues in Tripadvisor, we were not disappointed. We had a lovely corner room on the top floor with stunning views. The room had just been fully refurbished and was beautiful. everything was new.....bed, furniture and bathroom. We even had our first sauna...which was also new. Better than this though was the warm and friendly approach from the owners. Russ and Kerinda worked very hard to make everything just right , thanks. The comments in the visitors book confirm that it is not just us that find this a great place. There is no doubt in our minds that we will go back again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKtravelfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 11, 2010

Kerinda and Russell went above and beyond in making our stay special. Their hotel was clean, comfortable, and their warmth and hospitality made this very memorable and fun. We had dinner at the hotel one evening, and were very impressed with Kerinda's cooking talent. My favorite accomodation of my trip!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2010

My family and Our 14 year old Westie, Hamish were given a warm and loving welcome by the lovely Kerinda and treated to a first class service in a first class hotel. We stayed on the second floor in the newly decorated and furnished rooms 7 & 8 which had the most luxurious ensuite bathrooms. The views over the sea were stunning!
The home cooked food was of the highest standard with plenty of choices of meals from local fresh suppliers. Our Westie was spoiled with a freshly cooked sausage everyday and lots of fuss from Kerinda. We were allowed to leave him in the bedroom when we went out exploring as his little legs weren't up to walking too far.
If you want to be pampered and receive the best service, then this is the hotel I reccommend to you all! A stunning Victorian Hotel with the luxuries of the 21st Century set amongst the stunning and very hilly North Devon scenery.
It says 2 stars on the door, but I would award it gold stars! 10/10.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank izzywizzy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
1 review
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Just back from spending three idyllic days at the Seawood hotel in Lynton over the bank holiday weekend. The owners Russell and Kerinda were very welcoming hosts and made us feel completely at home. The rooms are tastefully redecorated, the restaurant serves excellent dinners and the location and views could not be better. This hotel deserves a four star rating and is worthy of all the accolades and more. There are some great walking routes - especially the coastal path to Castle Rock that starts right outside the hotel. What makes this a home away from home are the owners - step into their parlour and be prepared to be pampered !!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
242 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
714 reviews
1.0 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing