We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel with Great Food in a great location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Weybridge
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good Hotel with Great Food in a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2009

It is diificult to find the right balance between Dog Friendly and Luxury accommodation. For us the Seawood Hotel addressed our requirements perfectly. Lovely clean room with four poster bed and sea views. Excellent Breakfast which sets you up for walks in the area. Fantastic Five course meal in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MBrown5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
242
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2009

The hotel is in a great location and has stunning views from our room which was clean and comfortable.
We stayed for three nights on db&b and felt the dinner did not reflect the price charged. Although five course with some good starters and great puddings not all was home made, the main course showed little imagination and was served with the same very ordinary vegtables each evening.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ken024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

Last minute booking for a "get away from it all" break for myself and my husband which didn't fail to deliver on all apsects. Russ and Kerinda are fantastic hosts (and thanks to Sam also). The hotel is really lovely and spotlessly clean; food is superb. We had a 4 poster bed with fabulous views of the devon coast. Step out of the hotel and straight onto the coastal path for great walks with superb views. On the other side, walk through the garden and straight onto the clifftop railway which will take you down to lovely Lynmouth. Will definitely be returning to the Seawood and cannot recommend highly enough. I guarantee you will love both the hotel,staff and the location. Perfect!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmershamSouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, UK
Level Contributor
64 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

We stayed at the Seawood Hotel after seeing the good ratings on Trip Advisor. We weren't disappointed.

We took our dog and she got the warmest welcome from Russ and Kerinda- they even spared her a sausage each day. She can't wait to go back! This is not a hotel which just tolerates dogs, they are postively welcomed.

Our room was pleasant and had a decent sea view and a very nice, recently refurbished bathroom. Everywhere in the hotel was very clean.

The breakfast was excellent- fresh fruit salad every day, yoghurts, cereals, fruit juices.. and then the full english, beautifully cooked.

One evening we had the 5 course meal which again was excellent, well worth a try. The food was delicious and served piping hot. We had drinks in the bar before dinner, and when we got the bill we were pleasantly surprised that the drink prices were very reasonable for a hotel.

The location is ideal, 2 or 3 mins walk to the centre of Lynton, yet tucked away in a quiet location down a leafy road. You can walk right from the door, perfect for walkers and dog owners.

We would definitely stay here again, and would recommend it for a relaxed stay with friendly hosts.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2009

Lovely hotel in an amazing location in Lynton, just at the top of the railway and with wonderful views. The hotel nestles on the edge of the cliff in a wonderfully lush and quiet setting, although it was easy to find and access is good. We didn't have forward facing rooms and still got to see the sea from our windows. Rooms were very clean, with stylish furnishings for the price. Breakfast was fab and the staff were super friendly and helpful. I'd definitely recommend Seawood to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rowiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2009

Just spent 3 brilliant days in Lynton at the Seawood Hotel. Do not be put off by the 2 stars or Tripadvisor calling it a B&B, it isn't. What it is, is a really comfortable small hotel.
Weather was perfect for walking and the scenery in and around Lynton and Lynmouth was amazing. We stayed in one of the rooms that has had a new bathroom and it was really well done and really clean too. The hosts Russ and Kerinda are likeable and friendly. The food was amazing, we only ate in on the last night having wanted to try other restaurants in the area, we had been a little disappointed until then. We both had the fresh fish, Sea bass and it was really delicious, desserts were a real treat and the wine list was small but good. Well done Seawood. We have booked again for September.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olisambenjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2009

Thank you Kerinda and Russ for making my week at Seawood so special - you are the perfect hosts. This is a beautiful small hotel in a spectacular position overlooking the bay (wonderful views from my pretty bedroom ). Nothing is too much trouble for Russ or Kerinda and Kerinda is an excellent chef - the 5 course evening dinner is scrumptious. Renovations are going to be undertaken in January which will only enhance the hotel further. I hope to visit again in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiw-nj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing