We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinai House(Lynton)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (368)
Filter reviews
368 results
Traveler rating
324
34
8
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
34
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cliffsky tvbristol channelfirst classbeautiful hotelnorth walkbrilliant stayfunicular railwaystunning viewsfriendly hotelcoastal pathhigh standardtop floornothing is too much troublecouple of nightscomfortable bedfeel so welcome
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 368 reviews
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Fantastic hosts, beautifully decorated , and stunning location all made for a wonderful 2 day break. Thankyou Russ and kerinda for a very relaxing and entertaining stay. Your attention to detail and helpfulness was much appreciated . Andrea and Dave

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajdb2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

As regular visitors to the Lynmouth and Lynton area, it took several false starts before we adopted the Seawood as our venue of choice. The beauty of the whole area speaks for itself, but with the Seawood studded into the cliff at the bottom of the village of Lynton, it’s either a 10 minute walk down a vertiginous switchback, well lit path to Lynmouth at the bottom, or a one minute stroll up the garden literally to the start of the noiseless funicular which glides up and down the cliff.

As for the hotel itself, it epitomises a small boutique feel. An imposing building, it has an elegant drawing room, a restaurant and cosy bar on the ground floor. Each is furnished with impeccable but not stuffy taste. The rooms themselves have tremendous views over the Bristol Channel and every modern convenience thrown in. The restaurant serves a fabulous dinner menu for residents and its choice and quality cannot be faulted. Finally, Russ and Kerinda are the delightful hosts who and are a friendly and visible presence throughout the stay, but who equally melt into the background at the appropriate point.

It’s difficult to fault the offering at any level. Our four visits have certainly never disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views whether they are front or side facing. Those facing fully to the front are excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lancashirelad1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

My wife and I brought our daughter and son-in-law from Texas for a short stay 2 nights ago, just before the season proper starts. Russ and Kerinda couldn't have been more welcoming. Wonderfully relaxed atmosphere, vast local knowledge available if you ask for it, thoroughly comfortable surroundings and beds, superb cooking and amazingly good value. For a hotel of this calibre I was expecting the price of a bottle of wine to be twice what we were asked to pay. Kerinda's dinner menu is carefully chosen and her cooking is first-class, and again excellent value. Did I mention the direct access to the funicular railway from the back garden? Or the proximity to the cliff walk through the Valley of the Rocks?

The weather was too cold for us to use the terrace to watch the sunset over a drink or three, but the lounge was very comfortable for whiling away the time and had the view. Although we know Lynton and Lynmouth well we're already checking our diaries to see when we can fit in another visit to this hotel just to enjoy the ambience and hospitality. Preferably at a warmer time so we can avail ourselves of that terrace for the sunset....

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank raypallant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

The Seawood is a fabulous hotel which has been recently re-furbished to the highest level and is spotlessly clean. Breakfast & evening meals are excellent using local ingredients wherever possible. Russ & Kerinda are brilliant hosts - very friendly and could not do enough for us to make our stay really, really one we will never forget.
My wife & I stayed 5 nights over Christmas and we cannot fault a thing. The hotel location is superb with outstanding views at every turn. We love walking and anyone who loves that sort of thing is spoilt for choice with many spectacular routes to choose from in the vicinity.
I have stayed in hotels the world over and this is,truely, my #1 place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank paulguise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

What a super place to stay! The hotel is delightful. It is very clean, has yummy food and is in an excellent location. The hosts were so helpful and hospitable. We felt very welcomed and couldn't have stayed in a better place. It is the kind of place where you feel at home! We just wish we'd booked a few more days!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Emma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews