We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights & were looked after very well by Russell & Kerinda. We stayed in the Countisbury Suite which is very comfortable & would recommend this hotel highly.
There are some excellent walks & restaurants in the local area & Lynmouth is easily accessible during the day via the cliff railway which is right beside the hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KeziahLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (334)
There are newer reviews for The Seawood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 334 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

Russ welcomed us into the hotel and gave us a review of Lynton and Lynmouth. He then showed us round the hotel and then to our rooms. It is this kind of welcome that made our stay most enjoyable. Nothing was too much for either Russ or Kerinda.

Our room was very clean, well decorated and spacious. The bed was divine and so comfortable that I slept on my first night (a first for me). The hotel was lovely and quiet. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast on offer, of which there was plenty of choice. We also had an evening meal which was extremely tasty, professionally presented and adequate - my hubby even got custard with his meal (not on the menu) and when other guests having their meal found out, they too ordered and got custard!!! (You know who we are now Russ / Kerinda!!!!).

Overall - a super place to stay and to be highly commended and recommended.
Thank you for helping to make our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a lovely 3 night stay in the Seawood Hotel. It is in a lovely location, right next to the Lynton & Lynmouth Cliff Railway. The hotel has lovely views and the bedrooms are beautifully furnished. The food was excellent and I can highly recommend the kippers for breakfast! Russ and Kerinda are perfect hosts and they have created a lovely welcoming atmosphere. We enjoyed sitting in the bar chatting to the guests, comparing notes for walks and excursions. You will love staying here, book it!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5 which has a lovely bathroom and dual aspect windows with a lovely view. Very qui...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked a two day break here to spend with my Brother and his wife and we have just returned from a wonderful weekend. The hotel owners were perfect hosts attending to our every need with a very professional friendly welcoming style which enabled us to settle in well and enjoy the weekend. The rooms were very nice, freshly refurbished bathrooms. We had breakfast both days and had an evening meal on the Saturday, all meals were wonderful. There is a lounge and a separate bar area where we spent our evenings after the meal. Well done to Russ and Kerinda.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nashdm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed in this hotel from 21-25 September and had a lovely time. The owners couldn't have been more helpful and were really keen to do their part to ensure we had a great time, all we had to do was ask. The hotel itself is really lovely and comfortable. We stayed in the top floor suite which was absolutely perfect for our needs. Lovely comfortable bed with a tv in both the lounge (with sky) & bedroom. Breakfast was excellent & we had 1 evening meal although to be honest we could have eaten here every night had we not wanted to explore what Lynton had to offer which was actually a lot! Have no hesitation in recommending this lovely hotel & definitely hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tonedunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Seawood Hotel for two nights in September, which certainly lives up to its status of 'boutique hotel' and has a very striking entrance hall. Our room was beautifully decorated with an extremely comfortable bed, attractive furnishings, a great bathroom and wonderful views from both the bedroom and bathroom. There is a nice, comfortable bar area, which was well provided with reading material about the local area. The location near to the Valley of the Rocks, the cliff railway (and hence to Lynmouth and Watersmeet) is really good. Breakfast was also very good. We visited the Oak Room in Lynton for dinner on the Sunday night (booking recommended) and had a lovely choice of tapas or main dishes, all served by very friendly and courteous staff.

Room Tip: If you have any difficulties climbing stairs, it is probably better to choose a room lower down as t...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chantillylace_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Fantastic hotel, in a lovely hillside location overlooking the sea. The hosts Russ & Corinda were superb, with Russ showing us round the hotel on arrival and suggesting some things to do. Breakfast was excellent and very accommodating to special requests etc. Our room, the Foreland, was spacious, well decorated with lovely views over the sea. The room was kept clean and the beds comfortable. It's really very hard to criticise - we were very happy and Lynton is a good choice for exploring the Exmoor area (Valley of Rocks & Watersmeet walkable from the hotel). The Sky box with Sky Movies was an added bonus. I haven't stayed at such a good hotel in a long time.

Would also recommend trying the Oak Room restaurant in Lynton - great tapas.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank tibi08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
17.3 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: $134 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing