We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A truly wonderful stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A truly wonderful stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Many thanks to Russ and Kerinda. After some initial confusion we were shown around this gorgeous hotel and to our stunning room. We were made to feel incredibly welcome and at home. The facilities were spotless and the location fantastic. Lynmouth and Lynton were lovely.
Breakfast was fabulous with tasty local treats. We were even made to feel welcome to use the facilities after we checked out.
Couldn't recommend highly enough and thoroughly looking forward to returning next year for two nights not just the one.
Watching my husband bump his knees is reason enough alone!
Many thanks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    277
    27
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
242
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We had a relaxing weekend in this lovely hotel.Kerinda was a wonderful hostess and nothing was too much trouble for her.She even booked dinner for us,although I wish we had eaten in..Next time !! We had a suite which included a comfortable lounge area with T.V and tea and coffee making facilities with beautiful views across the bay.Leading into the comfortable well appointed bedroom which had a T.V with MP3 player.The bathroom had a Bath and Seperate shower.The suite was modern,bright and very clean.Breakfast was excellent and the service brilliant.I would have no hesitation recommending this hotel to anybody.

Room Tip: The suite on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here, one night, lovely room, stunning views across the bristle channel, and bay of lynmouth, lovely owners of this hotel, very friendly, beautiful breakfasts, esp clotted cream yogurts! couldn't ask for more from this victorian beautiful retreat! Dave and Darryl

Room Tip: Room with a view at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lizard, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time, the dog was most welcome too and he enjoyed his morning sausage. Owners happy to help out, they helped to dry all our wetsuits on our break. We also enjoyed a lovely walk left up to the valley of the rocks and also down right along the coast and a 10 miler back through the valley. Was exhausted but slept like a log - I want their mattress!.... Will stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank dogrock1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I had a fantastic 2 night break at The Seawood Hotel. Russ & Kerinda were very accommodating, gave us all the info needed for our stay. Our room was brilliant, extremely comfy with fantastic views! We ate at the hotel on the Saturday evening, the food was delicious. Russ recommended the sea bass to my husband who now wants to try cooking it himself! Breakfast was superb, we were looked after very well. Lynton and Lynmouth were lovely and we will certainly be going back!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Clare N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic 2 night break at this wonderful, warm and stylish hotel. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel like it was truly our home from home. With outstanding service, which is attentive without being intrusive, every little detail is well thought out and impeccably executed. Spending my working week away from home and in numerous hotels, this is truly up there with the very best.

Room Tip: We had a sneaky look in all the rooms on the top floor, without any other punters in I may add, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adeybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

It was a very lucky coincidence to have found this charming boutique B&B near Lynton / Lynmouth North Devon. We had seeked a bit of a refuge during a difficult period in our lives. Criterias were a cosy b&b by the sea at Devon's coast.
Russ & Kerinda never failed to accommodate our wishes. We quickly decided to stay another night when we saw our first room. If you can, book the suite during your
stay- the room we stayed in on our second night.
We also dined with them the last night and because they were fully booked, they converted the Bar Room into a privte dining room for us which was a truly wonderful experience!! The food was great and i do recommend dining with them!
I have travelled to several continents, have seen many establishments, from luxury stays to simple youth hostel throughout my life of extensive travelling and yet, have only rarely felt as welcomed and comfortable as during our stay at this lovely boutique B&B in Devon.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cupcake_Nancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
5.0 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing