We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the 5 Star ratings are well deserved”
Review of The Seawood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Seawood Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Exmoor
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“All the 5 Star ratings are well deserved”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Booked four rooms for two nights at The Seawood for a re-union and we could not have chosen a better hotel. Russl and Kerinda were the perfect hosts and the hotel was ideal for what we wanted. We chose to eat in the hotel both evenings for good reason - the food was first class. Good sized rooms with comfortable furniture and excellent views.
Going to North Devon? Then stay at The Seawood.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank exmoor-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
26
245
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is the second time we've visited the Seawood. The first time we thought it was excellent, good position, well run with good food.

On this second visit we were not disappointed - if anything our stay this time was more laid back and friendly than the first time. The food was excellent and the wine list contains some very good value wines.

Once more I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Chose one of the rooms over looking the car park and the bay - less over looked than those on the ot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rasenite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed at the Seawood Hotel, for a weekend break and found the hospitality mached the tremendous views. The rooms were spotless and cozy, Russ and Kerinda were discrete yet helpfull. The hotel overlooks the beautiful Lynmouth bay, and the most amazing walks started right at the bottom of the drive. We did not unfortunately sample the food, as we walked late in to the evening on both nights, but the smells from the dining room were Devine. Breakfasts were just the ticket to start a day of exploring the area, tried both the full English and the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon both were excellent. I really would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break with a personal touch, in a wonderful location. Hats of to Russ, Kerinda and the Seawood Hotel, we watched how hard you work to make people's time with you perfect, it was appreciated. Thanks!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jonclement1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have just returned after a three day break at Seawood,the accommodation,the food and the hosts
Russell and Kerinda were fantastic.It was a first time staying in a boutique style hotel and we loved it so comfortable those kingsize beds,the deco was superb and meals tasted great and were. beautifully presented.The hotel overlooks Lynmouth Bay with fantastic views towards the Welsh coastline would fully recommend a stay to anyone who loves good honest food prepared and cooked to a high standard.

Room Tip: North Facing Rooms have the best views,but all rooms are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Have just returned from a wonderful 2 day break. Russ and Kerinda were the perfect hosts, from the moment we arrived they catered for our every need. The room was very comfortable with great views over the bay, and the food first class. We stayed with friends who were just as happy with the accommodation, who also had a room overlooking the bay. We will certainly be returning in future to a little bit of hotel heaven!

Room Tip: Beautiful bay views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OndraeBishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

The Seawood is a cosy, stylish hotel and Russ and Kerinda are the perfect hosts who really care about your stay with them. This was our second visit and it was great to experience the transformation to the hotel. There is a comfy lounge, elegant dining room and cosy bar area downstairs, all with views out over the Bristol Channel. The bedrooms are large with big comfortable beds and spacious well equipped en-suite bathrooms but it is the view from the bedrooms that are the hidden treasure; Countisbury Head bathed in gold at sunset is a picture you will never forget. The breakfasts are huge with a choice from fresh fruit and cereal all the way up to a full cooked meal, the scrambled eggs are just the best. We also had an evening meal which was delicious and good value. Can't wait to go back and do it all again together with some long walks along this lovely coast.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have the better views across the Bristol Channel but smaller windows than those o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali and Ade W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one evening!! But will be back, the room the view the food was all fantastic !!! Brilliant hosts !!! The view from our room was of the sea and we could see South Wales. The hotel is in a fantastic location.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
188 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
485 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
232 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seawood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seawood Hotel

Property: The Seawood Hotel
Address: Seawood North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Seawood Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seawood Hotel is a beautiful Victorian property built around 1848. It is situated on the North Walk with amazing views to Countisbury Headland. The path outside the hotel leads to the Valley of the Rocks. The hotel is family run and we take pride in making sure that during your stay you feel relaxed, unhurried and a little pampered. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seawood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seawood Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing