We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chough's Nest Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Bath Hotel(Lynmouth)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sinai House(Lynton)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (206)
Filter reviews
206 results
Traveler rating
152
46
4
4
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
46
4
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdining roomtable servicefamily run hotellovely hotelbristol channelamazing viewsbedroom windowstunning seanorth walksmall hoteltraditional hotelbooked this hotelhosts johnan overnight stayevening dinnercooked breakfastcooked to perfection
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 206 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Well what more can you say that hasn't already been said. My wife and I stayed for two nights from 11 July 2013 and our room was superb with sea views to die for. The hotel is spotless and breakfast and dinner excellent and although I would agree with a previous reviewer 7.00pm dinner is a bit early for us, but the plus side was that we were able to go for a cliff top walk after dinner to watch the sunset - magical.

John and Rose are very experienced hoteliers and it shows in the attention they pay to guests.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffb7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights celebrating our anniversary, when we arrived at the hotel the fresh air and hypnotising views were the first thing that caught our eyes! the lovely family who runs the place welcomed us with the nicest of smiles straight to our lovely room, which was specious, nicely decorated, and spotless clean! and the views from the room... wow! absolutely takes your breath away. the great location provides a great start to explore the area but also close enough (5 minuets walk) to the main street with shops and restaurants.
The breakfast & dinner served in the hotel is top quality and delicious, we couldn't wait for dinner to be served every night (pre-book your dinner table, you won't regret it!) overall our stay was fantastic and we will deff come back again, thank you! :)

Amber & Mashy, London

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amberv333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Excellent stay at Choughs Nest. Wonderful walks along the south coast path. John and Rose and their daughter made us very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Even supplied gluten free and dairy free products for my dietary needs. Nothing was too much trouble. The evening meal we had was 1st class. Amazing sea view from the bedroom. So peaceful and relaxing. Would definitely go back for more walks and excellent hospitality. Thanks so much for a great short break.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 150Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

Rose and I are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay at Chough's Nest and we are glad you enjoyed the food and found the hotel peaceful and relaxing.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Just returned from two nights at The Chough's Nest. Booked this hotel on the strength of previous reviews and are so glad we did. The location and view - well it doesn't get any better than this! Yes there are only 9 parking spaces but some other establishments didn't even have a car park. Saying that we had no problem in parking. Breakfasts were very good. Had dinner here on both nights and again excellent. There is a good wine list. We and another couple wanted the Shiraz on the first night which they didn't have but John made sure he had it for the next night. The only tiny niggle is that dinner at 7 is a bit too early for us but that is a personal choice and in no way reflects on our stay which was wonderful. Nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of tea, coffee & milk in your room. Had a fabulous walk on the second day to Valley of the Rocks and Lee Bay - amazing views. All in all a very relaxing break at a really good well run family hotel. Thank you

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yanto57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked the Choughs Nest as a base for a walking weekend. John must be the most attentive host I have experienced. Nothing was too much trouble, great local knowledge on the walks and both he and Rose very charming and friendly. Drove us to our start point for the walk and recommended a pub to watch the rugby. Hotel has great views, excellent food and nice facilities. Plan to go back next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John H, Owner at Chough's Nest Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your walking break and that you enjoyed our hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Chough's Nest in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews