We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little piece of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A little piece of paradise”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Just back from a last minute break at the Lynton Cottage Hotel. We stayed in the Bay View room and the views stunning. The hotel was spotless and the four poster bed was the most comfortable we have slept in. Bill was always at hand answering any questions that we had. There were a wide range of choices for breakfast, we had the full English which was very nice.
The staff are very polite. An excellent place to visit if you enjoy walking, the scenery is truly beautiful. Some nice restaurants in Lymouth which is only a 5 minute drive away.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for the sea view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mum08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our Bay View Suite is always popular. We are developing other rooms within the Hotel to also match this experience. We look forward to seeing you again regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    316
    145
    20
    9
    2
See reviews for
43
397
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 20, 2014

Fabulous hotel, superb sea views looking over the bay, our room was huge with a king size bed and loads of space, excellent breakfasts, super evening meal, friendly staff, lovely walks to Lynmouth, Watersmeet and Valley of the Rocks, will definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We've just got home from a last minute break at the Lynton Cottage Hotel - booking was simple, finding the place was easy, we received pleasant welcome and service throughout our stay was friendly, breakfasts were great. The hotel does have stunning sea views, although we booked the only room without a sea view - instead it overlooked the Lyn Valley and it was a beautiful and interesting view, we didn't feel we'd missed out at all on the viewing stakes! The room was spacious, really comfortable and full of character, though needed a lick of paint in places. We didn't use the bar, dinner restaurant or other public spaces so can't comment on these. Overall we though we'd had excellent value for money.

Room Tip: If you're not too worried about a sea view, the Cottage Suite offers good value and a super view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingtoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 19, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for the second time. Previously we stayed under temporary management and they were very good too. The new management are well organised, and the refurbished rooms are very nice. Views across the bristol channel to Wales are superb. Can be a little foggy first thing in the morning.The Breakfasts are very good with lots of choice. The evening meal is also good, but I do feel there should be more choices. We stayed 3 nights and felt we would be repeating the menu after a couple of nights.However, the quality of the cooked food was excellent. Its not the cheapest hotel on the block, but I feel the management are trying hard. We will return.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the newly refurbished rooms. All have sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betacam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have rolled out a new menu for this season. As with anything new, there have been one or two hiccups. However, the menu is now fully complete and in operation. There are a minimum of ten main courses offered, so that Guests eating in every night may have plenty of choice. Most of our competitors will offer no more than five choices. Our aim is to offer a quality product and service, and our renovation programme remains intense but discrete. We do hope that you will come and visit us again to see the next batch of improvements. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Lynton Cottage Hotel for three nights, our room had recently been refurbished but was a little on the narrow side but it did have great views. The breakfast was excellent with the two ladies running the restaurant and bar very friendly and efficient. We had dinner at the hotel one evening and found it fine, nothing special but tasty. The hotel has an excellent position.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanessa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Most of the rooms in this 200 year old building are of an individual character. Your Classic grade room was one of the smaller rooms, but indeed the views over Lynmouth Bay are excellent. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

My wife and I have just returned home after spending 5 nights at Lynton Cottage Hotel. We occupied the only ground floor room which is spacious and comfortable and ideal for me with poor mobility. The hotel has quite superb views over Lynmouth below and the wonderful Exmoor coastline. Indeed the position of the Hotel is probably the best in Lynton. A superb place to stay in Exmoor. Peacefully quiet. We stayed on a B&B basis and will do so again. John

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnbarbara66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our Ground floor room is proving increasingly popular. As the Hotel stands higher than the car park at the front, the same magnificent views can be enjoyed from this floor level, as well as those higher in the building. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We recently had a short stay ay the Lynton Cottage, we have visited this hotel many times in the past. This was the first visit under its new management.
The newly refurbished parts of the hotel are very well done, and very comfortable. The breakfasts are very tasty with a good selection. If the evening meals were as good as the breakfasts, it would be lovely. However the evening meals are very disappointing, and in our opinion its not worth eating in the restuarant. We were unfortunatley not the only people to complain about the evening meal, considering the order for the meals has to be in by 5pm, you would expect something a little more than whats currently on offer.
The bar closes early with last orders at 10pm, we always enjoy a coffee & whisky after dinner. The whisky ran out on the Friday, with no replacement for the Sat night.
We still had a lovely stay, & enjoyed everthing else about the hotel. Just a shame about the meals.
Unfortunately, unless the standard of the meals improves, this will have been our last visit.
It does feel more like a bed & breakfast than a hotel. Which is fine for some, but not for us.

Mike & Gina.

Room Tip: Pick a refurbished room, when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikepr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We did take note of your comments at time of check out, as well as giving a discount against the cost of your stay. The weekend in question was the first on a new seasons menu, and there were issues with the vegetables. This has now been corrected, to the satisfaction of subsequent guests. We trust that you found the menu no less interesting, although very different, from what would have been offered on previous visits. The third party comments referred to are inappropriate to be posted here. There were other issues with these Guests in question, which is why the whiskey ran out and was deliberately not replaced by us the following evening. Last orders is 10pm and will remain so. It is not a problem for Guests to get an after dinner drink and coffee etc, as indeed your party did on both evenings. The Guest lounge is available for Guests to sit in, after the bar is closed at 10.30pm. Our marketing policy is to promote a "Country House Hotel" within a peaceful and relaxing atmosphere, very much in keeping with what Exmoor is all about. Hotels who run late bars, always have problems with noise complaints. Our concern is for the peaceful enjoyment of the Hotel by the majority of our Guests. This remains paramount amongst our priorities. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
329 reviews
0.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Kentisbury Grange
Kentisbury Grange
#1 of 1 in Kentisbury
593 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
0.1 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#5 of 5 in Lynmouth
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments

Property: Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian Country House situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. Comprising 10 luxury self catering Apartments. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All Apartments enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of one bed, two bed and three bed are available. Several have Balcony or private terrace and some Four Poster beds. Free WIFI superfast broadband and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing