We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynton Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Have just come back from a wonderful break at The Lynton Cottage Hotel. The suite had been fully refurbished, gorgeous comfy bed and tasteful decor. The view from the bath was simply stunning, perfect for laying in sipping champagne! The food on the Friday evening was good home cooked food and plenty of it. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. On the Saturday evening we went to the Rising Sun in the village for dinner which was also superb.
Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CBish87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    138
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
383
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brize Norton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014

Perched on the cliff overlooking Lynmouth this Hotel has some stunning views. Our suite (No2) had just been refurbished and had a very large comfortable bed, the bathroom was excellent and you could recline in the bath and look out across the bay. All the staff were welcoming and very friendly, we enjoyed the food, especially the breakfast! I can thoroughly recommend a visit here and it's very reasonably priced too.

Room Tip: Suite No 2 has an amazing view from the bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nic C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

This hotel was the best UK hotel I have ever stayed in, it has the most amazing views and the whole hotel was beautiful! The staff were so welcoming and so polite we felt truly spoilt. We stayed on Valentines Day and the weather was awful but the views were still fantastic and this hotel is great come rain or shine! The room was exactly like the picture if not better and we had sea views, the most comfortable bed, a huge bath and even the selection of teas/coffees in the room were very generous both amounts and type! The food was incredible and we were treated fantastically, the waitress we had was lovely and made our stay that much better! I can't recommend this hotel enough, we didn't want to leave and will certainly be back!

Room Tip: We had room 1, there were only two in the corridor so it was very quiet, huge four poster bed, lovel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Four Poster was newly installed just in time for Valentine's Day . We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watchet, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

The attention to detail and level of service at Lynton Cottage is excellent. Our room was spacious with wonderful views and very comfortable. Good food and good service, you can't ask for more. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I booked this last minute and I have to say what a lovely surprise. The hotel is fabulous. Our room was the smallest in the hotel apparently (no 3), but we found it really quite spacious. I love the character of the building and also the modern amenities. The views are breathtaking from almost anywhere in the hotel. Also, the food is excellent, our compliments to the chef. All staff are friendly and attentive. Would really recommend a visit to Lynton Cottage Hotel.

Room Tip: There is no fitness centre in the hotel, but the surrounding walks are excellent for keeping fit and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Two hundred years of history have developed the character of our building, so most rooms have their own unique character. We can therefore offer Guests that something special. We have developed our Menu along traditional West Country themes, and are pleased that you found it to your liking. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

My hubby organised a nights stay in Lynton at the Cottage Hotel on our way to visit family in Cornwall. Our room was no 10, it is laid out like an apartment with two windows giving generous views over the bay that left you breathless.... we love the sight of an angry sea and winter cliffscape.
Anyway we found the room was spotless, facilities were excellent and decor relaxing and rustic - furnished with quality solid wooden pieces, the bed was very comfy. It was a great place to get away to after a busy few months at work - we wished we had time to spend the week there and wind down.
Despite the weather we enjoyed the blustery sea views, the walk into Lynmouth and a deliciously presented breakfast to round it all off....eggs benedict and a house special with trimmings.
The Hotel was taken over by Bill and Cita 8 months ago and they have been busy turning it around - it is a beautiful building on an interesting site, well worth a visit, Bill is looking into the history of the place to share with guests. By the way , the entrance hall really does look like the pictures - black, white and shiny !

Room Tip: give Bill a ring if you want to discuss any personal choices or have any questions, want a sea view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pol25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your comments. Your room is one of the newer "Junior Suites", that we have brought on line since the winter. We are pleased you liked it, and look forward to seeing you again in the winter. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

This is our 2nd stay at the Lynton Cottage Hotel and it was excellent!!
Since our last stay they have done a lot of improvements, such as rooms being re painted and new beds. Our room had just been finished and it was excellent the view was fantastic even though the weather was not great.
This time we dinned in the restaurant and the food was lovely, well worth booking a table.
We are already planning our next visit to the hotel, the reason we go back is for the view and the friendly staff and owners.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rach79057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments. It was nice to see you again. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again later in the year. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing