We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very happy with our stay, friendly hosts, lovely rooms, excellent food and outstanding views.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynton Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Very happy with our stay, friendly hosts, lovely rooms, excellent food and outstanding views.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

We wanted a nice place to stay in north Devon as a base to visit family, and after an extensive internet search I found Lynton Cottage which looked wonderful, but you never know until you arrive.
But we were very pleased on arrival, our room was lovely and a z-bed had been made up for our 5 year old son. It was dark when we arrived so we didn't see the view from our room until morning, but it was worth waiting for! The bed was huge and very comfortable, the bathroom was very nice and breakfast and dinner were also highly recommended. Our son said he didn't want to leave our 'holiday home' and could we stay.
Will definitely return.
Ralph, Diana and Peter

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaEvans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are pleased everything was to your satisfaction, and particularly, that Peter enjoyed his stay. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    138
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
383
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed in the Bay View suite. Lovely Four Poster bed with proper carvings, not a cheap MFI job like you get in some places. And new as well, not a squeaky old thing. Mattress ever so comfortable. We had dinner on the first night, which was well prepared, and the cheeseboard had a very good selection of local cheeses. The sea views from the room have to be the best in town. Worth every penny. Will definitely stay again. Thanks to Bill & Cita for looking after us.

Room Tip: All rooms have great views our Bay View was a big room our sons had rooms 10 & 12 which were sma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The smaller rooms occupied by your sons are being converted into one new Suite, as part of our New Year upgrade projects. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit in June. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chudleigh, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Bill and Cita got it right buying this beautifully situated hotel just six months ago in June 2013. There's still work to be done as the building is tired in places, though efforts at rejuvenation are clearly ongoing, but who can deny the location, the cleanliness, organisation and attention to detail on offer?! Our room was perfect: HUGE bed, beautiful brand new bathroom, sumptuous linens, everything of good quality and well presented. Dinner was very good, I certainly recommend the venison with port and Stilton gravy. The cost was very reasonable, as were the additional expenses of dinner and drinks. Our hosts were friendly and professional, their staff very competent and pleasant. We are hoping to visit again next year, and certainly would want to go anywhere else in Lynton.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AliceandMarkBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We will be busy this winter completing the next phase of our refurbishment program. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

Lovely location, room with a view, great beds with spotless bedding and a massive breakfast. A family run hotel recently taken over this year. We could tell that renovations had started but as with all old properties it's going to take some time to get it ship shape, nonetheless nothing was amiss & it was very favorable in terms of value for money and being modern in the essentials such as the breakfast area and the furniture in the rooms - other hotels in Devon that I looked at were sadly lacking in this area . We stayed for two nights.

We weren't bowled over by the welcome but I'm putting that down to the hotelier having a lot on his plate as upon leaving he was pleasant and welcomed us back. At breakfast time the family run breakfast was both friendly and plentiful.

We didn't stay in the hotel much we were out and about and I don't really get people moaning about food service during the day, the village is about 100mtrs away where there are plenty of cafe's pubs and stores open.

If we were staying in Lynton again I'd definitely stay here and would be interested in seeing how the renovations progress.

Room Tip: If you want a view choose a room with a view!!! We had one of the cheaper rooms with a view and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. As part of our renovations for January, the smaller, cheaper rooms will be converted into Suites. The majority of our accommodation will then be rooms of a Superior grade or Suite status. We are confident this will allow us to offer amongst the best accommodation on Exmoor.
The views from all rooms except one, remain stunning.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Talbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights during the autumn half term and certainly plan to return. Our room was delightful- very big and with wonderful wooden beams supporting the roof. The room had a view of the valley rather than a sea view but that didn't matter to us - it was so comfortable with a lovely sofa and a huge bed. The breakfasts were delicious and the evening meals were very good, though a little limited in choice. The views across the Bristol Channel were fantastic - we really enjoyed trying to spot landmarks of our local area in South Wales. We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzanneB868_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. This room, The Cottage Suite, is the only room at present without a Sea View. We are hoping to add a Balcony to it in the near future. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Stayed for our anniversary weekend. Found our room (no. 10) to be full of furniture and barely any space. It was rather noisy outside the room with people coming and going in the morning and can't bear listening to people going to the toilet above your head. Some of the towel hooks were snapped off, part of the shower was broken. (I believe this will be refurbished soon?) We found the owners not very welcoming, no smile on arrival, just formalities...a smile goes a long way, however the girls at breakfast were really pleasant and full of smiles.

In all, we felt the money was solely on the view (which is stunning) and bed (which was so comfortable). However, it was packed full of people out of season so believe that we were just unlucky with our room. Shame really as it has put us off staying here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrWobbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We would agree there is room for improvement in this room, and have scheduled plans to adjoin it to its neighbour, in order to make a Suite. This is currently awaiting Listed Building approval. We hope to bring the new Suite and one other, on line by the end of January. 80% of our rooms will then be of a Superior grade. The bathroom will be replaced at the same time, from which we expect to attract more positive remarks, such as are being received from other reviewers, in response to our first bathroom upgrades.. In the meantime, we have upgraded the furniture, to offer the same high quality beds as the Superior grade rooms. Perhaps over zealously, with the best of intentions for our Guests. Slightly surprised by suggestions of noise outside. This is an extremely quiet location, and I assume you refer to Guests passing in the corridor, despite there being only two rooms past yours. The layout of the building with its character twists and turns, plus Fire Door compartmentalisation, lends itself well to minimising any noise transference. During the winter, our refurbishment will continue apace. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

I was treated to two days in Lynton with my wife for my birthday, we stayed at this hotel. The current owners have owned the hotel since June and they are already making improvements to the rooms and exterior.
The room had all the basics, with probably the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in whilst away. There is no Wifi at present in the room, but the owners are already looking at this. Breakfast is included and they don't skimp on what you have and will supply more tea and toast as it empties.
We had a nice stay and would like to visit again in a year or so to see what other improvements the new owners have made of which I am sure there will be many. Location wise it's perfect and a sea view to die for.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RG4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Rolling out WIFI to the bedrooms is a current focus, and we have commenced cabling this week. In the meantime, it is accessible from most of the public rooms on the Ground Floor. As our renovation and refurbishment plans proceed apace, you should see even bigger changes on your next visit, than what has been achieved already. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing