We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Round of applause for Bill and his staff!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynton Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Littleborough, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Round of applause for Bill and his staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I couldn't believe that the present owner had only been in situ for eleven weeks!! The Hotel is run so quietly and efficiently that you tend to overlook the work projects in hand. Amazing location with fabulous views, clean and comfortable throughout, nice relaxed atmosphere and fantastic staff who just couldn't do enough for you! Loved the little finishing touches, the great Devonshire breakfasts, comfortable bed and chilling out after dinner in the lounges. The dinner menu is going to be updated I believe, which I saw as the only slight negative ,,, was excellent food but a bit limited in choice. I am diabetic and unfortunatey dont like ice cream so I would have appreciated a choice of fresh fruit or a cheese board, but we did eat there for 3 nights and enjoyed it. Can't wait to see the amazing changes that Bill intends to put in place.... we will be back!

Room Tip: Our room (Room 3) had 2 floor to ceiling windows with gorgeous sea views, which Bill says he is hop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have a variety of projects scheduled for the winter months. We look forward to seeing you again next year, so that you can review the latest additions. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    138
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
383
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in a Superior double room which came complete with a beautiful double bed, corner bath and a stunning view of the sea. The room was immaculate, of a high standard and very comfortable. Breakfast was lovely, we had traditional devonshire fry ups which were very tasty. The breakfast room also has a brilliant view. There is a bar and a very cosy guest lounge complete with books and games for quiet evenings in. The hotel is right in the centre of Lynton and minutes from the cliff railway that takes you down to Lynmouth. The area was fantastic and I wpuld definitely stay here again as all staff were very helpful and friendly. Definitely a must when in the area!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toothpaste22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

Room was very nice and well presented. It was clean and had all extras that you would expect. The bed was a dream, very comfortable and very big. Bathroom was again very clean and well stocked.
Dining room was also well presented, clean and the food excellent. There was a good choice for breakfast and a fair choice for dinner.
All the staff were very welcoming and pleasant.
The communal areas were also well presented and clean.
There is also a small area to the front where you can sit outside and also some lovely gardens, where again you can sit or wander. Smokers converge in the garden which is fine as the small carpark is between the hotel and garden.
Slight niggles - the TV kept losing the signal on the BBC channels and it would have been nice to have internet access in the room although it is available in the common area.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want to take advantage of the fantastic sea view, stay in one of the rooms in the front of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pricey10103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have scheduled the TV contractor to point the aerial back to Wales, from which a much stronger signal can be received. Exmoor and transmitters of any sort, don't get on very well together !
WIFI is also scheduled to be rolled out to all the rooms before the end of October. Your room with part sea view, is one of only two rooms in the Hotel, that don't have a "full on" sea view. We have submitted an application to add a balcony to this room. So lots more improvements by the next time we see you. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Very pleasant experience with helpful and friendly staff. Evening menu slightly boring with the same vegetables every night. Bathroom on the dark side as not all lights in good working order but understand they are all due for refurbishment in the near future. Hotel situated in excellent position with exceptional views. Overall we would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you. See you next year. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this hotel and it was really lovely. Although the hotel is being refurbished our room was lovely with great views over the bay. The bed was huge and very comfortable and the room had everything to make for a relaxing and very peaceful stay.
Ideally located for touring Devon and Somerset.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to seeing you again regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

Bill and his wife who are experienced guest house owners took over this rather dated hotel 8 weeks ago and have done a marvellous facelift on the bedrooms and communal areas. Beds are very comfortable and the blue and gold decorations are very majestic and modern whilst the oak furniture and sloping floors remind you that you are in a character property. The bathrooms are still to be done and although rather dated and floral are still fully functional - these are a winter project. Beware of rather hot scolding water! I understand why Bill has the water as hot (small water tank) but this could catch some elderly/young people out with nasty consequences. A simple warning notice near the sink would be useful.

Bill is always ready to help and the staff are very pleasant making this Boutique Hotel a pleasant place to stay. We stayed in the C S Lewis Suite which had a separate seating area as well as the bedroom which overlooked Lynmouth beach below. A most pleasant place to participate in a glass of wine after a long day out.

We had dinner in the hotel which was good english wholesome food. This is not a fancy gourmet experience, the main meal was a good portion which was cooked perfectly and quite filling. Starters were excellent but puddings desired something a little more tempting than school type puddings. The dining room has good views also and is light and airy giving a modern touch to this old hotel. Breakfast are excellent. But be prepared to preorder your dinner choices by 5pm each day and to eat between 6-7.30pm. We soon got used to doing this but sometimes I feel that 2 hours before eating you would not be hungry and miss out on a starter which later you may fancy.

There is adequate parking spaces for all guests and the exit is a rather long drive next to a sheer drop - I would not want to do this in icy weather! It looks like the car park and drive have recently been tarmacked so good on the shoes ladies.

If you want to eat out there are about 4 places in Lynton and lots in Lynmouth down below. The water Cliff railway is about 100m from the hotel and runs daily - check opening times as this ceased at 7pm when we were there. Lynton has lots of antiques places and a craft centre which has some wonderful gifts - don't miss this as it looks to be in an old chapel. There are 2 small supermarkets there also for any forgotten purchases.

So well done to Bill and his crew for a wonderful place to spend a few days by the sea whilst having a wonderful service. Bill just seems to appear when you need him. Thanks Alice (foreign intern student)

Room Tip: Front of the hotel has the best views. C S Lewis Suite was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diamondlady0602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We are developing our menu, since acquiring the Hotel recently. We look forward to seeing you again next year. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We visted Lynmouth last year for a few hours on our way to Fowey.

It is a lovely place, quite quiet and a nice spot to spend a few days walking and relaxing.

So we decided to incorporate it into our Devon and Cornwall road trip this year and splahed out on a night in the magnificent "Bay View Room" .

It has huge french windows all the way around a large bay, providing a wonderful vista out to sea and a 6ft - 4 poster carved bed and well appointed bathroom.

We had a wonderful nights sleep with the windows wide open and the view whilst sitting up in bed drinking coffee in the morning could have kept me there all day, unfortunately as we were traveling to a wedding we had to get ready rather too quickly !

Bill has only owned the hotel with his wife for just over two months now and the renovations and redecorations go on, but without impact on the guests.

The rooms that have been decorated already are lovely, with new beds, mattresses, bedlinen, towels etc.

The staff are extremely friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

The breakfasts were well cooked and offered a good selection.

I wish Bill and his family every success in their new venture, the hotel when finished will certainly be a credit to them.

Our thanks for a lovely stay.
Helen & Allan Player

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have wonderful sea views, check out the pictures on the web site and then you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePlayers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Bay View is our premier room. We are fortunate that most rooms enjoy the same views, and indeed one can sit in bed and look at the wonderful view from most. We have also rolled out the same quality of beds and mattresses to all rooms, regardless of grade. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing