We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth visiting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lynton Cottage Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

Went to the Lynton Cottage Hotel last weekend during the heat wave; the hotel’s natural air conditioning via the open windows provided a gentle sea breeze leaving the bedroom well aired and comfortable. Food is fine and traditional, breakfast very filling and meals are enjoyed overlooking the sea - great views. Hotel is clean and tidy, much has been repainted and the carpets look new - I understand this is work the new owners have had done; I found the staff very caring and helpful. The hotel has a decent car park and you can get to Lynmouth by the water powered cliff railway which is a few minutes stroll from the hotel. Great location for a base to visit N.T. Watersmeet and Valley of the Rocks. Sitting on the terrace with coffee and cake watching ships and boats on the sea is very relaxing as was a wander around the garden.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. All of our rooms do have a Sea view, apart from The Valley Suite. By 2014 this should also have a balcony and a premier view. The view from the majority of the rooms, as well as public areas, can reliably be described as panoramic. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    138
    19
    9
    2
See reviews for
36
383
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worle, Weston-Super-Mare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

We went for a weekend break for our silver wedding anniversary, we had room 6 and it was beautiful, the views were stunning I was so pleased we picked this lovely hotel. The family and staff were all so pleasant and friendly it was hard to believe they had only been there for 3 weeks.
The food was really good and the hotel was very clean new carpets everywhere and new very comfortable bed, I had never stayed in a four poster before. I would like to thank them for a really good time and would recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: Room 6 was great, large bay window so panoramic views of the Bristol Channel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The Bay View room is our premier room, but all rooms enjoy similar views. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We had reserved a doubleroom with an extra bed for our teenage daugter and was stunned when we entered the Bay Room with an outstanding panorama view of the Bristol Channel and the coast of Wales. Very good new beds and mattresses! Very clean and spacious bathroom. Bill and his family and staff were all very friendly and eager to serve us - and at the same time kept an army of workers busy refurbishing and restoring the place indoors as well as outdoors. Amazing how much they had accomplished in only 2 weeks. This will be the best hotel in the area!

Room Tip: We had the Bay Room, very spacious and with panoram windows towards the sea and Wales. But all rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IvarTonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. The majority of the refurbishment has now been completed, with only minor works continuing unobtrusively in the background. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel commands one of the best views in Lynton . Room 7 is highly recommended,spacious and with a double aspect.The dining experience has improved considerably with the new owners,with a wide selection to suit all tastes - good English fare and plenty of it! We agreed with an earlier review concerning the vegetables on offer in as much as we think that the choice should extend beyond peas and sweet corn each night - no doubt this is work in progress for the new owners.
An excellent start all round, with great attention from all the front line staff,this hotel promises a great future. We shall be returning

Room Tip: Room 7 for a brilliant view and double aspect
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. On taking over the Hotel, we made a conscious decision to keep with traditional English fayre, and to avoid the need for a dictionary when reading the menu. Your feedback is useful, and we are developing our menu accordingly. We look forward to seeing you again. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We have just returned from this lovely hotel. Our room was extremely spacious with the most fantastic views. I know that the owner has only just taken over this business and is carrying out refurbishments,but this did not spoil our break. The staff seem friendly and I am sure that once they have all settled in, this hotel will be the success it deserves to be.

Room Tip: Ask for room number 1 for the best of the views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCHelston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We have now completed the main part of the refurbishment for the summer. 14 of our 16 bedrooms have been upgraded, with new beds and soft furnishings. All the better to enjoy what are probably the best views in Lynton. We look forward to seeing you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is worth the money for the view alone!
New owners who are in the process of updating the hotel.
The room was small but had every thing we needed, and a magnificent view!!!
The breakfast was very nice, the scrambled eggs were great,
We didn't try the restaurant as we had booked to eat Lynton lobster.
We had a Devon cream tea on the patio before we left this afternoon.
We hope to be back

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. All of our rooms enjoy superb sea views. Many of the Superior rooms have a dual aspect, allowing further enjoyment of the scenery, as the light changes during the day. We hope to see you again in the future. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel was under new management when we arrived and in fact carpets were still being laid and the decorating was not finished in some places. I have to say that our room had fantastic views which could not be bettered. However, the dinner we had booked in the evening although the service was excellent in my opinion the food was no better than a town cafe. The vegetables if you can call peas and sweetcorn vegetables taste like they were out of a tin, the duck was so tough and the skin was not crispy just kinda sat there, I had high hopes for pudding but I was soon disappointed, the syrup steam pudding was caramelized on the top and crusted and burnt my mouth which led me to believe it was microwaved. The custard was cold and looked like it had also come from a tin! A big disappointment on dinner. Breakfast however was a different matter, serve yourself cereals and cooked breakfast to order but they got the order slightly mixed up. I am sure it was all teething problems and I would like to see what reviews this place gets in a few months once the new owners have settled in. Comfy bed although the actual wooden bed creaked terribly, not the mattress though. Nice and quiet at night, rooms with great views but no literature in our room and no homely touches. Odd bedside tables and lamps more suited to a small child's room not a superior room. I know all these things take time but may e they were premature at opening before everything was just so. my advice would be to get a decent chef in and make the food stand out from other places because the views can't b bettered.

Room Tip: Get the best you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nomadsnomore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, Owner at Lynton Cottage Hotel, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Your stay coincided with our third day of ownership, and indeed all carpets and beds, are swiftly being replaced. Since the date of your review, this is now substantially complete. We are aware of your disappointment with the Duck breasts, and hence the complimentary drinks that were offered by way of a goodwill gesture. You will also be aware that we had removed them from the menu by the next day. We are pleased that you found the Breakfast a better experience. For several years in another Hotel, we have offered an extensive selection, that has been popularly received.
We are exceptionally lucky in our location, with the Hotel enjoying some of the most panoramic views along the Exmoor Coast. I hope you will observe with interest future reviews on Trip Advisor, as our refurbishment progresses swiftly. regards Bill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rock House Hotel
Rock House Hotel
#4 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lynton Cottage Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynton Cottage Hotel

Property: Lynton Cottage Hotel
Address: North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6ED, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lynton Cottage Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small Georgian Hotel situated 500 feet above sea level, with panoramic views over the North Devon and Exmoor coast line. The author C.S. Lewis visited here in 1925, and said, "The view from the balcony was beyond everything I have seen". All rooms enjoy magnificent sea views over the North Devon coastline and Bristol Channel. A choice of Superior, Deluxe and Classic en suite rooms are available. Some also have Balcony, private terrace or Four Poster beds.Free WIFI access in bedrooms and there is Free Parking for all Guests. Dining Room, Bar and Guest Lounge are also available. The Hotel is situated within 3 acres of hillside gardens, with superb views over the Bristol Channel. Lynton is at the heart of Exmoor and a paradise for ramblers. Walkers are Welcome. A very peaceful setting and views to remember. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lynton Cottage Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lynton Cottage Hotel Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing