We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in everyway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned from a few nights at Woodlands, and we had an amazing stay! Jo and Andy are so friendly and welcoming. We stayed in Cleves room although meant to be the smallest room was amply spacious and had a stylish wetroom which also had plenty of space. This a great location to leave the car and go for long or short walks in the local area. Their are plenty of tea rooms and restaurants to dine at within a 10 minute stroll........Wildlife lovers will enjoy seeing the wide variety of birds in the garden on the feeders and the badger s...Thank you for a great de stressing stay and we look forward to our next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (402)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 402 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2013

I'm not sure I can add any more to the deservedly rave reviews here of Woodlands Guest House and its superlative hosts. We've just returned from an all-too-short 3-night stay, and have never been made to feel so welcome and 'at home' in any other accommodation, anywhere. Our knowledge of the area was fairly limited before but Andy and Jo soon remedied that, and I know know the location of most of the tea shops in a 15-mile radius of Lynton (thanks Jo - you should write a book, never mind 'Pub Walks on Exmoor' it should be 'Cream Tea Walks'!). Our room, Countisbury, was perfect, spacious and sunny with a wet-room bathroom to die for (my husband was taking photos before we left...) and it had a tiny balcony just big enough to sit and look down on the incredible number of birds on Andy's bird-feeders. We didn't go near the car until we left which was a real bonus. I think the real questions are, would you recommend to family and friends? And would you return? A resounding YES to the first, and we WILL be back! (Oh and am posting the room key to you right away. Honest...)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GythaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We have had 2 really bad stays in Lynmouth/Lynton but no more! Room excellent, en-suite wet room a bonus. Great view of valley and wildlife including the badger! Walks around here are excellent and have everything from spectacular coastal scenery to inland riverscapes and testing hills. Andy and Jo are lovely people and nothing is too much trouble. This is up there with the best. Paul and Hilary Shaw.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if you are lucky get one with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulDShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

On arrival you will be met with a very friendly warm welcome from Jo & Andy and a lovely cup of tea. From then on nothing disappoints. Lovely rooms, fantastic location. We are experienced walkers and the area provides some of the best walks we have done - Ever.

We will definitely be back to this little hidden gem of a place. And to top it off genuine, happy and lovely hosts!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jinxyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed at Jo and Andy's house with my daughter last summer for a week. We absolutely loved it. Jo and Andy were friendly and caring, a lovely couple. The house was beautifully furnished and decorated with artistic taste, very quiet and spotlessly clean. We were surrounded by real wildlife, we could see squirrels climbing trees, birds and every evening we could watch from the window of our room a budger having dinner. Still, it was within walking distance to town. On our short trips we could see steep rocks, green pastures with sheep, horses and cows; sit on the banches with remarkable dedications and observe the beautiful vast sea. We recommend this place to people who have hectic time during the whole year and couples on honeymoon. Jo and Andy, thank you very much!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pavlusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here for one night while walking the South West Coast Path. Walked from Minehead to Bude in 10 days and stayed at 11 B& B,'s & hotels, Woodlands Guest House best of the lot. Comfortable room, excellent breakfast with good service. House tastefully decorated. Made to feel very welcome by Jo and Andy who have a wealth of knowledge of all local walks. Would recommend to anyone doing the South West Coast Path and more.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Just returned from another weeks stay at woodlands, our first visit with owners Andy & Jo.
Everything made this a fantastic holiday, from the excellent choice at breakfast to the comfortable rooms with fabulous views. If you love birds & animals then this is the place to be, badgers on the patio in the evening to bull finches outside the dining room (is 4 bullfinches on the feeder the new record?). If you love to leave your car & walk, then this is an ideal base for the many river & coastal walks to the well earned pubs (Hunters Inn & the Rockford) & cream tea rooms (Lee abbey & Watersmeet). Andy & Jo with their friendliness & enthusiasm have really created the perfect place to stay in this beautiful part of England.
This definitely will be a place to book next year!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coopermanKingsLynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.5 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#2 of 5 in Lynmouth
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
South View Guest House
South View Guest House
#9 of 23 in Lynton
151 reviews
0.5 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 23 in Lynton
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $105 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing