We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful time we had” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodlands Guesthouse

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Woodlands Guesthouse
Ranked #2 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Solihull
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a wonderful time we had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

We have just returned from our first stay with Jo and Andy. I doubt it will be out last.
From start to finish we were treated wonderfully. Spotless comfortable room. Freshly cooked,tasty breakfast. Tips on places to eat and places to visit. Friendly hosts who are happy to 'go the extra mile' An all round excellent experience. See you again soon!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Croxy54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    314
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
233
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Beautiful location. Immaculate accommodation tastefully decorated, with fabulous views.(Saw buzzards, red deer, loads of rarer small birds and owls from the balcony of our room). Delicious full English, and hospitality.....second to none!!! Thank you Andy and Joe. ( We will be back!! Sorry ha ha)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just returned from another stay at Woodlands. No matter how many times we visit, Jo and Andy never fail to impress. With spotless rooms that are unbeatable with large beds, a fridge with mini bar and soothing modern decor. Rooms 3 & 4 have under floor heated wet rooms to die for. One room even has a balcony with chairs and a table to look out over the glorious Devon countryside. With a large selection of delicious locally sourced food perfectly cooked it would be too easy to put on a few pounds in weight, luckily with Jo's amazing local knowledge of the area you can get a list of local walks to work off the breakfast.
I will just add that the Steam Railway magazine national directory gave Woodlands an unbiased recommendation as the best guest house in the area and the nearest preserved railway is miles away!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jjohns180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Jo and Andy were wonderful hosts. We only stayed the one night but wished we could have stayed longer. The room we stayed in had a wonderful view, was large and had a modern bathroom. Jo and Andy gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant and sent us on our way to walk the Valley of the Rocks. Would recommend this B&B to any other travellers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KHughes86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes, Devon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We visited Woodlands for a second time over the recent bank holiday and once again we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. It was wonderful to see the sympathetic restoration work that Jo and Andy had put into the property since our last visit two years ago. The rooms are very tastefully furnished and the new bathrooms are a definite plus point! We were very thankful of the lovely toiletries that were provided as we had forgotten our own. Although we didn't take great advantage of it, we loved the addition of the mini-bars in the rooms, as a cold beer was very inviting after a long coastal walk.

Everything that previous reviewers have commented on, is true to form and it is difficult to make reference to other points. Jo and Andy make fine hosts, they are incredibly welcoming and a mind of information. They are terribly kind hearted too, so much so, that whenever we wanted to fine a place to eat in the evening, they arranged everything by ringing around and reserving a table for us.

We have been fortunate to have several holidays in the South West of England, staying in Bed & breakfasts, but Woodlands stands out as one of the very best. It is excellent value and we feel sure that we will be back for another return visit!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RPDSPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have recently returned from a 2 night stay at Woodlands with friends. Jo and Andy were the perfect hosts and make this B&B a great place.
I stayed in room 4, a large, airy room which is beautifully decorated, having an ultra modern bathroom, super king sized bed and a small balcony.
The B&B is situated in a wooded valley, which provides a tranquil and beautiful setting, while just a short stroll takes you into Lynton. A conservatory at the front of the building provides the ideal location to do some bird spotting or simply to sit and read, or take in the glorious views.
Jo and Andy have worked hard to make Woodlands the place that it is. They offer accommodation of a high standard at reasonable prices in a truly wonderful setting. This is a hidden gem and I highly recommend to anyone looking for accommodation in the Lynton/Lynmouth area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyBexleyheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benfleet
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

I stayed 2 nights with friends. It was truly welcoming and you felt comfortable there all the time.
Jo and Andy were perfect hosts with a lovely nature. I loved it there and would love to stay there
again. I cannot find anything to not be happy about, even the weather was fab!! Thank you
Pat Cuthbert (Room 7)!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatCBenfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.5 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.6 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.5 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#4 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodlands Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodlands Guesthouse

Property: Woodlands Guesthouse
Address: Lynbridge Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Woodlands Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Woodlands is an elegant detached Victorian guesthouse situated within Exmoor National Park and very close to the North Devon coast. We are located in a tranquil wooded valley a short stroll from the famous towns of Lynton and Lynmouth. Woodlands is a special place with great comfort and is owned and run by Steve and Lesley Hawker who will welcome you with a friendly smile and will do their best to ensure you have a fantastic stay. All the bedrooms are spacious and most enjoy beautiful views over the wooded valley with its abundant bird life and the West Lyn River. All superior rooms have luxury en suite wet room or walk in power showers, underfloor heating, anti-misting mirrors and fluffy towels. The rooms are equipped with Minibars, 32" flat screen TV's, Wi-Fi, complimentary mineral water, toiletries, beverages and biscuits. Our spacious and relaxing Guest Lounge has an honesty bar. The breakfast menu is extensive and caters for both traditional English and healthier (inc vegetarian)options. Free parking is available in our own car park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and Despegar.com so you can book your Woodlands Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodlands Guesthouse Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing