We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First rate accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southcliffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southcliffe
Ranked #1 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Spalding
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“First rate accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

A warm welcome from Sue and Andy greeted us when we arrived. The rooms are spotlessly clean and very comfortable. We were impressed with the high standard of the accommodation at a relatively modest price. The location is peaceful but well positioned for Lynton and Lynmouth with several good restaurants nearby. The quiet atmosphere and comfortable bed made for a good night's sleep.
The high standard was carried through to the breakfasts. An excellent choice all freshly prepared and including prize winning homemade marmalade.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week's stay and will certainly visit this B &B again if we are in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    413
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
332
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This was our first visit to Southcliffe, it certainly didn't disappoint. Sue and Andy were most welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. The accommodation was spotless with everything you needed at hand.The rooms matched the excellent website pictures. The food was excellent with a wide variety of choice. We decided to try the evening meals and we were not disappointed. The food was well cooked, beautifully presented and served. Andy and Sue were forthcoming with local knowledge and places to visit to suit all weathers and the differing needs of guests.We would certainly return to Southcliffe to continue our exploration of the area and recommend a stay here without hesitation, to friends family and visitors to trip advisor.

Room Tip: We had a twin room on the first floor, it was quiet at all times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Southcliffe and once again everything about our time here was delightful. The food at both breakfast and dinner is superb with a large choice available and expertly cooked, our room was spotlessly clean and tastefully furnished. The highlight of Southcliffe for us though are Andy and Sue the most welcoming and thoughtful of people, so much so that we feel like we're visiting old friends. So if you are looking for the perfect place to stay, look no further!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexDownsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was our first visit to both the area and to Southcliffe. Sue and Andy are the most perfect of hosts, efficient and naturally pleasant people. the rooms were clean and bright, the breakfasts were excellent. if we return to the area we will definitely return to Southcliffe.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 7 at the rear of the building, but we have no reason to believe their are issues s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ascot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

This was our first visit to Southcliffe and we will certainly be returning. We felt very welcomed from the moment we stepped through the front door. The evening meal and breakfasts were all excellent. Our room had wonderful views and had everything you needed to make our stay perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was our second visit to Southcliffe and it didn't disappoint. Sue and Andy's hospitality is second to none. Always willing to advise on great walks and trips out. It is our favourite place to stay with lovely, comfortable and bright, clean rooms. The breakfasts were fantastic and they also serve great evening meals. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shrewsbury
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

This was our third visit to Southcliffe. As before, our stay was lovely. Sue and Andy are perfect hosts. An exceptionally clean B & B with lovely rooms, comfortable beds and quality bedding, fantastic breakfast - Sue makes her own marmalades and granola, and the daily little extras - bottles of water, mini shortbreads and flap jack, chocolate and toiletries. This is a first class B & B which I wouldn't hesitate to recommend, and we will be staying there again on our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jessicashrewsbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#6 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe

Property: Southcliffe
Address: 34 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcliffe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcliffe is a small guest house owned and managed by David and Ceri Markham. Their individual style, along with their attention to detail, ensures all guests enjoy the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The distinctive Victorian house is perfectly situated to explore Exmoor and the North Devon coastline by foot or by car. Breakfast and evening meal menus are varied and imaginative, both with a variety of vegetarian options. Private, off-road parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Southcliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing