We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Southcliffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southcliffe
Ranked #1 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An amazing experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We booked a long weekend at Southcliffe based on the reviews here and were not disappointed.

The B&B is fantastically located for hiking and to the beach. We were lucky to have a balcony room (it's definitely worth the extra!) and enjoyed the views over the hills. The room was comfortable and very well kitted out, we especially enjoyed the different shortbreads left by the tea every day! The bed was comfortable and offered a good night's sleep.

What ultimately had made us choose this B&B was the different breakfast options available and they did not disappoint. The breakfast is amazing! Good quality, generous portions and different options set us up for long days of hiking.

The owners were super friendly and helpful. They offered us maps and recommended great hikes that we may have missed otherwise.

We hope to come back for another holiday soon in Devon and will most definitely be coming back to Southcliffe.

Room Tip: Get a balcony room if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claudia_flies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    417
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
335
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clydach, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Have been coming to Southcliffe for almost ten years and it has been our favourite B&B since the very first visit!
The most welcoming hosts, beautiful food, delightful rooms and of course a perfect setting!
As long as Andy Sue continue to open their doors to guests, we will keep coming back!

Couldn't recommend a better B&B if you want to stay in this gorgeous area. Lovely and informal, and Andy and Sue are so helpful when it comes to planning your visit. Endless maps, guide books and home made walking guides - plus a wealth of local knowledge!

A definite must is to take home some of Sues home made marmalade - the real deal!
Plus chocolates on the pillow and yummy biscuits too!

Give it a try - you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Ask for one of the two "balcony" rooms to make the most of the fabulous views across the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westward Ho, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Andy and Sue were so accomodating from the moment we arrived to the moment we left.
Our room was perfectly made with everything we could need for a comfortable stay.
Breakfast was lovely and it really felt like we had been invited into thier home.
Lynton is a beautiful part of the world and our stay at Southcliffe was the icing on the top!

Room Tip: We were in a twin room, no.4, which was at the top of the stairs. Not the best view but not hard to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed at Southcliffe for 2 nights over bank holiday weekend. Andy & Sue are wonderful hosts. Everything is top quality - from the bed linen, cleanliness of shower to excellent breakfast. They even have walks printed and waiting in the lounge so no need to plan anything in advance. Really enjoyed our stay and would love to go back,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RuthMiltonKeynesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in May 2013, breaking the journey to Cornwall with a 3 night stay. Sue & Andy are wonderful hosts, greeting us with a tray of tea and home-made lemon polenta cake (fresh from the oven!), Our room (number 1) was spacious, very clean and with a good amount of storage space including plenty of hangers. There is a small balcony to the front aspect of the house. The bathroom was well equipped, although the bath was a little small for someone 6ft 2. Other rooms have showers so best to check when booking.

There is a fantastic choice for breakfast, including Sue's home made granola, and a range of cooked breakfast options. We went for the full English which was well cooked and tasty.

Dinner is also available for a very reasonable price and was tremendous value for the size of the meal and the quality of cooking. There are a few choices for eating out in Lynton but don't feel that you have to as the two meals we had at Southcliffe were the equal of anything we had outside.

Sue and Andy will recommend some different places to visit, such as "the Bill & Ben village" ( Berrynarbor) and the lesser known local walks. We went up the path to Hollderday Hill past the site of Hollerday House and on up to the Iron Age fort at the summit. There is a very nice view down to the Valley of the Rocks from the top of the hill.

All in all, we'd definitely stay at Southcliffe again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveVClacton_on_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Can't recommend this B&B highly enough! Rooms are modern, smart and spotlessly clean - a touch of class is evident in everything from the quality bed linen to the fresh milk and local biscuits. Breakfast was fresh and varied - options cooked to order plus a small quality buffet including berries, yoghurt and the best granola ever! The hosts Andy and Sue struck the perfect balance for us between being really friendly and informative, but also discreet and low-key - leaving us feeling welcome and like we had everything we needed but also with privacy to come and go and enjoy this lovely part of the countryside. We were welcomed with yummy cake and fresh coffee, plus some ready-to-go recommendations for local strolls so we could get stuck in straight away. There's plenty to do locally, both for serious walkers and those who are less experienced - Sue and Andy's tips were spot on both for walks and for local restaurants and pubs.

Room Tip: The first floor front room gives lovely views over the quiet village and even though the balcony was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayfunfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

My Mum and I stayed here in September 2012 and I've just got around to becoming a TripAdvisor contributor [apologies Sue and Andy :-) ]. The house, the rooms and the breakfasts were the best I've ever had in a B&B. Sue and Andy were fantastic. They couldn't be more helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. I can't recommend this B&B highly enough. The town and the area are beautiful and I wish I'd had more time to explore. Hopefully I'll be back soon.

If you're reading this and in a quandry over what B&B to stay in, I'd say take note of all the rave reviews that Southcliffe have got and book immediately!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yogajoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe

Property: Southcliffe
Address: 34 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcliffe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcliffe is a small guest house owned and managed by Charlie and Jane Foulis. Their individual style, along with their attention to detail, ensures all guests enjoy the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The distinctive Victorian house is perfectly situated to explore Exmoor and the North Devon coastline by foot or by car. Breakfast and evening meal menus are varied and imaginative, both with a variety of vegetarian options. Private, off-road parking is available. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing