We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Faultless” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Southcliffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Southcliffe
Ranked #1 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cullompton, Devon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My wife & I plus another couple stayed Friday & Saturday night. Sue & Andy couldn't have been more welcoming. The rooms were spotless & the breakfasts spot on. Lynton was quiet this time of year (just how we like it) but Sue & Andy were helpful in their recommendations & I can return the compliment by recommending their B&B._

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HustlerAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
332
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

A truly beautiful B&B in a fantastic location with lovely owners. My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights back in July and we had such a relaxing time, just wish we could have stayed longer! The breakfast is absolutely delicious, I would highly recommend the sweet fruit waffles to start the day! Sue and Andy were so friendly and they were very helpful with advice on where to visit/eat out. Many thanks for a wonderful weekend away!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife & I stayed at Southcliffe for 4 nights at the end of October / beginning of November.
We were met by Sue & Andy on arrival & given cup of tea & a slice of homemade ginger cake , which is exactly what was needed after a 5 hour drive.
Our room (No2) , was spotless , tastefully decorated , with a PROPER shower. Complentary tea , coffee , water toiletries etc.
We had one evening meal , on the night that we arrived & then four breakfasts (the choice of breakfast options is very comprehensive , ranging from Sue's homeade Granola (very tasty) , to a full English Fry Up (my favourite).. All food is cooked to order & delicious (Thanks Andy)

What you also get , is Sue & Andy's comittment to making your stay as pleasant as possible.
Nothing seemed to be too much trouble.
As they know the area & love walking , they are perfectly prepared to sit down with you , suggest walking routes , print you off copies of walking routes , & even fill your flask with coffee..

So it's a big thumbs up & a big thank you to both Sue & Andy , & we hope to come down to stay with you again soon...

Peter & Fran

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sonofcrippler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copthorne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

A really first class B&B. Sue and Andy are generous, caring, efficient and interested hosts who did all they could to make our stay memorable - which it was. The food at both breakfast and dinner was fresh, perfectly cooked and delicious. The rooms are tastefully decorated and as clean as a whistle! Fantastic walks in every direction and this part of North Devon is just stunning.
Philip and Bronwen H

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Really friendly hosts, we were made to feel very welcome with tea and cake on arrival in the comfortable guest lounge. The room was spotlessly clean, the breakfast was superb and price very reasonable. We will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liam c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a last minute two night stay at The Southcliffe Hotel in Lynton. It was faultless - very clean, comfortable bed, fantastic freshly cooked food with a huge choice (including home-made granola) and is especially good for vegetarians. Sue & Andy use local produce and very tasty free-range eggs. They are brilliant hosts and it's always a good sign to see that guests return again and again. This hotel is in a fantastic location for either browsing round the town, walking down into Lynmouth or along the coastal path. If you are thinking of visiting North Devon then just book into Southcliffe!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is our 7th visit to Southcliffe. We have always received the same high standard of accommodation and food. The rooms are spotlessly clean and comfortable with many little extras to enhance your stay. The food is always fresh and well cooked, whether it is breakfast or dinner and the choice of food is good.
Sue and Andy are always interested in what you have done during the day and are willing to give you ideas of places to visit. They are wonderful hosts and always pleased to see you and make you feel welcome.

James and Isobel S

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#2 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe

Property: Southcliffe
Address: 34 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcliffe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcliffe is a small guest house owned and managed by David and Ceri Markham. Their individual style, along with their attention to detail, ensures all guests enjoy the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The distinctive Victorian house is perfectly situated to explore Exmoor and the North Devon coastline by foot or by car. Breakfast and evening meal menus are varied and imaginative, both with a variety of vegetarian options. Private, off-road parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Southcliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing