We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss if in Lynton”
Review of Southcliffe

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southcliffe
Ranked #2 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss if in Lynton”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Sue and Andy run an exceptional guest house. The standards are high throughout from the lovely biscuits to the very clean rooms. Breakfast is not to be missed, there is a very wide choice from full English to waffles with maple syrup and fruit. They also currently serve evening meals on certain days. Sue and Andy are always very welcoming and are very knowledgeable about things to do in the area.

Room Tip: Although they cost a little more, the balcony rooms are larger and you can sit out and watch the wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonMrsT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    19
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
337
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shoreham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2012

I have recently come back from another holiday at Southcliffe in Lynton. This was my third visit and myself and my daughter had another great stay. The friendly welcome from Sue and Andy was lovely, the breakfast selection is exstensive and I can definitely reccomend the scrambled egg muffin with herb butter and the room was very comfortable. If your thinking of going to the West country, which is also lovely, Southclife is the perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent the first four days of our roundtrip through Devon and Cornwall at Southcliffe in Lynton. Our intention was to go to Padstow, Sidmouth and Bath after our stay in Lynton, but due to a sad personal occasion we were forced to cancel the rest of our trip. Sue and Andy were very helpful hosts during this emotional period of time. We stayed in a lovely clean and comfortable ensuite room with a wonderful view from the balcony and breakfast was just marvellous, cooked very well by Andy and served by Sue. Despite the sad occasion we had a wonderful stay in their house and we give Andy and Sue great honors for taking such good care of us. Dear Sue and Andy: thanks again! We wish you all the best.

In loving memory of our wonderful brother and brother in law Tom.

Room Tip: Go for the balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Evers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Had a wonderful ,welcoming stay with Sue and Andy over a long weekend in June 2012. Accommodation, hospitality, atmosphere and food could'nt be faulted. Have travelled widely and you would have to go a long way to find anywhere that better's Southcliffe.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrisandtonybaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Had a very warm welcome on this our second holiday at Southcliffe, we were shown to a lovely clean and fresh room including a great range of complementary extras. The breakfasts were really
excellent,loads of choice, cooked very well indeed The evening meals were excellent,good varied
menu including a good select of Vegy food. Altogether a wonderful holiday, Many thanks.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave030238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We spent 3 very relaxing days in the Lynton area staying at the Southcliffe. The hosts Sue and Andy were very welcoming and helpful offering lots of suggestions for things to do, places to vist and restuarants to eat in. The breakfast had extensive options from buffet style cerials, fresh fruit and preservatives with cooked to order alternatives. The 'Southcliffe Sundae' comes highly recommended - delicious! The bed was very comfortable and the room clean. The room was cleaned and prepared every day with fresh towels if required. The shower was very compact and the toilet was a macerator which was a little smelly at times but functioned under instruction. Our room had a balcony overlocking the street which was great to sit out on in the sunshine and watch the world go by. Parking was a little tight but then so are the roads!

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are front facing with balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil-Forties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorrach, Germany
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2012

There is only praise for Sue and Andy's perfect place.
A beautiful house, with lounge and lovely room, all clean and well-kept, a delicious and varied breakfast menu to choose from, wonderfully positive and helpful hosts - we simply had a brilliant time at Southcliffe! Thank you once again, Sue and Andy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 73Frank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#1 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southcliffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southcliffe

Property: Southcliffe
Address: 34 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Southcliffe 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southcliffe is a small guest house owned and managed by Charlie and Jane Foulis. Their individual style, along with their attention to detail, ensures all guests enjoy the friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The distinctive Victorian house is perfectly situated to explore Exmoor and the North Devon coastline by foot or by car. Breakfast and evening meal menus are varied and imaginative, both with a variety of vegetarian options. Private, off-road parking is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Southcliffe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southcliffe Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing