We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Hidden Gem of Lynton and Lynmouth”
Review of St. Vincent House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Vincent House
Ranked #15 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We didn't stay at the hotel as we were unaware of it's exisitance until we visitied the area, but we had dinner there on our last night. The service was faultless, the food outstanding and the decor stunning. A true dining experience. A must see for anyone visiting the area. This is definately going to be our hotel of choice should we visit North Devon again. It's almost as though you don't want to sing it's praisies too much because you don't want to run the risk of not getting a room or table! What a quandarry! But credit where credit is due. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Firich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
There are newer reviews for St. Vincent House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 113 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2009

We did not stay here as we were in a holiday cottage, but tracked St
Vincent's down for its restaurant, only to vow that we will return and stay
there.
You should book in order to get a place as Its small( perfectly formed
!! ) From the smiling welcome on the doorstep to the final goodbye it felt
more like having dinner in a good friends home (except none of my friends
cooks quite as well !!! )... rather than being in a very special
restaurant.
Drinks in a very comfy and lovely sitting room. And then a superb three
course meal for £27 in a pretty dining room with just 5 or six tables.
The chef is Belgian and his so sweet wife English. Together they have
created a truly superb place to eat. I won't bore you any further, just go there
and try it out, unless you generally like to eat at Mac Donalds, in which
case this place will not suit you.....
Drinks ..... very reasonable,lovely belgian beers, good wine list ( superb
Rioja £16.50)
very good coffee.
See you there !!Thank you owners for a wonderful evening . We'll be back !
Please keep me a boullabaisse and pork in Lavender and honey sauce.Nearly a
week has gone by and I still have withdrawal symptons .

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed for two nights in May to celebrate his Birithday.
John-Paul and Lin could not have done anymore to make our stay special, I had arranged wine, chocolates and a basket of fruit for the room on arrival, this they were happy to do.

The restaurant is something else, excellent food, if you love fish you will not be disappointed.

The room was lovely they have complimentary sherry which is a nice touch.

We came away feeling totally relaxed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayes252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2009

This was our second visit to St. Vincent's and I was concerned it would not live up to our previous experience. I needn't had worried, we had a great time. John-Paul and Lin are great hosts, the rooms are lovely & very clean, and the food (and drink) is excellent.

If you enjoy walking and dramatic scenery then Lynton is a great place to visit. If you love boutique style hotels and great food then St. Vincent House is a must. For us, the combination is too good to miss.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2009

Great local food cooked by an amazing chef. Comfortable modern rooms. Great hostess. This hotel gives you something that is now lost in alot of hotels these days They give you an amazing experience, warm and welcoming. A fantastic place to relax and enjoy the sites. I will go back again and again.

Carlos Sejournant - Swindon

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lifeineverybreath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the guest house for 1 night with my parents. We were so impressed with every aspect! The owners are lovely and friendly, they make you feel right at home. The rooms are lovely and everything is of a high quality. We ate dinner in the restaurant and thought it was one of the best meals we had on our 5 week holiday. Breakfast was great too! The owners have thought of everything and do everything they can to make your stay special. We will have to go back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amalfi07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2007

This is a gem tucked away within lynton. Jean Paul is a fabulous chef and his partner Lin a fabulous hostess. The rooms are beautifully decorated and comfortable. The food is outstanding , all freshly cooked from local produce so make sure that you book a table in the restaurant. Overall a fab experience

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yim22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lynton
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
128 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bath Hotel
The Bath Hotel
#3 of 5 in Lynmouth
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
The Rising Sun Hotel
The Rising Sun Hotel
#1 of 5 in Lynmouth
480 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Village Inn
The Village Inn
#10 of 15 in Lynmouth
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Address: St. Vincent Castle Hill Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing