We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of St. Vincent House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St. Vincent House
Ranked #14 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We (Couple, 31 years) spent 5 nights at St. Vincent House. We enjoyed our stay very much as Peter and Daphne were very welcoming and always helpful when we needed advice on where to go or had questions about the UK in general.
The room was very clean which is the most important point for me when staying at a hotel. The room was spacious and the bathroom was ok, too (the shower worked perfectly).
There were also nice details which simply made us feel comfortable like for example the two cookies that were waiting in the room every day.
I also read the other reviews and must say that we didn't feel like we had to obey a lot of rules. They just asked if we could be careful with the linen meaning we shouldn't color the linen with pens and other stuff. And they asked us which time we would like to come for breakfast so the guests would not all arrive at once as they really cook the breakfast (eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, toast,sausages) I think it is self-evident that they have to plan ahead a little as it simply takes some time if one wants to eat it fresh and warm.
Another thing I really liked was their efforts on preparing a full English breakfast for me as a vegetarian (and it tasted great).
Another nice thing is the lounge where you can sit and just have a glass of wine and read or watch TV.
If we come to Lynton again, we will definitely stay here, only we would bookt he room directly over the phone as it seems to be easier for the hosts plus we could have asked some things ahead for example concerning the parking. But they also have a lot of useful information on their website.
It would make our review sound a bit more realistic if we could say something negative, too, but we simply can't think of anything.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Colossus. It has a suitable bed for tall people and was very quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you for your very comprehensive and kind review. It was a pleasure having you staying here and we both hope that we will see you again. Peter & Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (116)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 116 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had previously stayed at St Vincent House when it was run by different owners. Had a much better time back then. Given a very warm welcome by Peter and made to feel at home. Room was ok and had a roll top bath. Couldn't get the hand held shower to work at a suitable temperature so had to just run a bath where the hot water was scalding. Breakfast was an adventure. Breakfast was from 8.30 am to 9.30 am. We were asked to try to stagger times with other guests so that we didn't cause too much of a problem with so many people ordering breakfast in one go. We went down just after nine and there were two other couples having breakfast but then we were followed by a family of three and another couple. Daphne commented that we had done exactly what she had asked us not to do!!! Breakfast itself (once the correct orders were given to the right person) was fab. The day we were due to leave breakfast was just as chaotic as the previous day so we decided to go for a walk once we finished our breakfast to allow them time to finish serving breakfast for the other guests and then come back and pay once breakfast was over and done with. We left our bags in the room and popped up to the shop for a paper.Came back and Peter was in the garden and Daphne was by the door. We were greeted with the words "We thought you had left without paying". They had also been up to the room to check!! We collected our bags and paid our bill and left. Sadly we wont be going back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

We are sorry that you were not happy with your stay. The bath and shower fitting are the same as they would have been on your previous stay and we would have been happy to explain how to achieve a satisfactory temperature with the shower. There is a warning about the very hot water.
We now operate 2 more rooms than when you last stayed and this does sometimes cause some problems at breakfast if all our guests arrive at once. The comment was said in a light- hearted way and we are sorry if you were upset by this. Perhaps we should have two sessions for breakfast and ask people to come at particular time, as the previous owner did.

It is not uncommon for guests to leave accommodation without paying and it would have been helpful if you had mentioned that you were just going out briefly.

Daphne and Peter Lindsell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Had a fantastic time, stayed in September and the weather was kind. Daphnne and Peter were very good hosts, with fresh daily bread and excellent breakfasts. Accomodation was very clean and tidy, room was functional and pretty, the location is centre of Lynton with parking outside the property or nearby car park. Lots of lovely walks - Valley of the Rocks, Lee Abbey all signposted. Shops to browse, cliff railway down to Lynmouth and walks along the river side. Plenty of eating houses, cafes etc. Would recommend the Greenhouse. Will visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. We certainly had some lovely weather this year. Peter & Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Despite arriving rather later than we said we would, we still received a warm welcome from Peter and Daphne.
Property is located in centre of Lynton, easy to find and near amenities. Some on-street free parking is available directly outside although you may have to use paid public car park if you're not using your car during the day and can't get a free-space (Peter and Daphne can offer a discounted ticket).
Period property is very pretty and is in-keeping with Lynton. Room (ours was 'Irresistable') was well equipped with comfortable bed and kept very clean. En-suite bathroom more functional than luxurious.
Good choice of breakfast, well prepared using local produce and tasty fresh home-made bread.
Peter and Daphne were most welcoming, gave good travel advice and keen and willing 'to go the extra mile' for us. We would visit St Vincent House again and would definately recommend to others.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are both very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Peter & Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We wanted somewhere to stay on our way back from Cornwall to London, with our dog, to stop over for one night. I found this place when looking at Lynton (my mum had recommended the Valley of the Rocks, which is beautiful!) and am glad I did. Very friendly hosts and very dog-friendly, as well as a lovely characterful period building with nice decoration and everything you could need in a b&b. It seemed a shame to only stay one night as it was a great place and a great area to explore (Exmoor is right there, the Valley of the Rocks, Lynmouth, Watersmeet, etc..). The place is also licensed, with a good selection of drinks and a nice lounge, so you can drink back home if you want. We ate at Lily May's restaurant about a minute walk away which was also great - dog-friendly and delicious food (homemade pies).

Room Tip: Downstairs room (Prince George) might be a little noisier than others if the place is full, but soun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Satkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope that you can stay a little longer next time - we will be pleased to see you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Booked a night at the St Vincent at short notice. Didn't do as much research as usual.
Nice old house in the centre of Lynton. On booking we were asked what time we were going to arrive. When we said 7pm we were told they usually did check in from 2pm to 6pm. We duly arrived at 7pm to a friendly greeting from Daphne. We were told not to bring any of our own alcohol into our room, not to use any hair products that might stain the bed linen and not to arrive at breakfast at the same time as the other guests. Our room the Prince George was immediately off the hall and hence felt public. We found ourselves whispering. The room was ok, rather compact and lacking any finesse e.g. disposable plastic glasses in the bathroom. We couldn't get the TV to work. At breakfast there were 2 other couples and another 2 groups arrived shortly after us. Daphne appeared and said. I told you not to do this and all come at the same time. The breakfast was good if a bit chaotic with orders mixed up. When full they really need extra help to serve breakfast. Is in reality a guest house.

Room Tip: Do not book the Prince George room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneRHARVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter5115, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We are both sorry that your stay at St. Vincent House was less enjoyable than we would have liked. It is a pity that you did not mention any of the issues that you have highlighted during your stay. The television, which was mentioned when you were leaving, was found to be working perfectly. It is not possible to hear conversations occurring within Prince George outside. We are sure that each of these problems could have been rectified if they had been mentioned at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013

After searching the internet for a weekend get away with our dog we finally found St Vincent House in the lovely village of Lynton. Daphne and Peter were brilliant hosts - making us feel very welcome - nothing too much trouble for them. Everything you needed was there to hand and if not I am sure they would have found it for us. Lovely clean rooms, breakfast cooked to order and very filling . We will be back - thank you both

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andree95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daphne163, Owner at St. Vincent House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

It was a pleasure to have you staying with us. We are both very glad that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. Peter & Daphne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.3 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
0.1 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
337 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Vincent House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Vincent House

Address: St. Vincent Castle Hill Market Street | North Devon, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $83 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Vincent House 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to St. Vincent Guest House where Emma and Michael invite you to enjoy English hospitality in the comfort of their elegant Georgian grade II listed home. The hotel has comfortable and atmospheric bedrooms, six ensuite and one with a private shower room. All rooms are individually styled. Log fire. Cottage garden. Close to coastal path. Terrific value for money. Genuine hospitality. Non smoking. Children welcome but no pets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your St. Vincent House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. Vincent House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing