We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous sea view from our bedroom”
Review of North Walk House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
North Walk House
Ranked #13 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2011

We enjoyed everything about staying here. The place itself is a bit quirky and different, only adding to its charm, but in a fabulous location with uninterrupted sea views. We had a great welcome and enjoyed a home cooked dinner with all the other guests around the large dining table. Breakfast was good, the room was comfortable with everything you needed, and the whole stay was great.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxigran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2011

Such a relaxing leg of our trip around Cornwall and Devon. The views here are spectacular. Really enjoyed the warm and cosy rooms after a long day walking. Dinners cooked by Sarah in the evenings are a must if you stay here.
The bathroom was so clean I walked into the shower door!
So nice to have piping hot water for showers and baths after a hard day's walking.
The atmosphere is wonderful and warm. Great hosts in Ian and Sarah, I cannot recommend this place enough.

Room Tip: Try the Framboise room. Stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yasmeeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was the perfect B & B for us. The house is beautiful. The rooms and beds really comfortable with lots of light and stunning views of the coast. We could leave the car and be on the coastal path or in the town within a couple of minutes whilst also being able to leave our bedroom window open at night to hear the sea but no other noise. Eating in the dining room was convivial and friendly and the food ands choice of food was amazing. Most of all the welcome from Ian and Sara, the tea and homemade cake on arrival, chatting with them and the way they made us feel so at home was very special. Judging by the comments in the guests book we will not be the only ones returning for another stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2011

We booked a last minute short break at North Walk House and were not disappointed. Ian and Sue are excellent hosts and the breakfasts and evening meals cooked by Sue were lovely. Everything is homecooked using organic ingredients. Meals are eaten around a communal dining table, though numbers are limited to 11 guests so it is a pleasant rather than overbearing experience. The room we booked, Framboise, was clean and extremely comfortable and the views from the alcove over to Countisbury and across to South Wales were stuning. The position of North Walk House is superb if you enjoy walking as it is right on the coastal path, with Lynton and the cliff railway down to Lynmouth also only a few minutes walk away. You could spend several days here without needing to use the car.
All in all this is accommodation with a difference and I would certainly recommend it.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a bath so if this is important to you, ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ritaskeeter03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

We spent the first 4 days of August 2011 at North Walk House. Though the access is easy and parking available, it is set close to the cliffs near Lynton giving spectacular views both of Lynmouth and over the Bristol Channel to South Wales - from our room we enjoyed seeing the lights coming on across the water against a darkening sky on a clear evening. From the house there are a number of fantastic walks which will challenge the experienced rambler but also, to the west, a gentle stroll along the level cliff path through to the Valley of Rocks is an absolute delight and not too strenuous. Such a variety of terrain - coastal path, woodland, babbling brooks, moorland with sheep....and along the way you never seem too far from a pub or a strategically placed cafe!
Our hosts and new owners, Ian and Sarah, were lovely with us - attentive to our needs without being intrusive. Our room with en suite was kept spotlessly clean and facilities such as TV, wi-fi, tea/coffee making facilities (with fresh milk provided) were available, and not forgetting the bed which was very comfortable; we had double aspect windows on the first floor with views across the bay and of Lynmouth....and this is a real sea view with the water beneath you, not in the distance through binoculars!
We ate together with other guests around a communal table which gave a homely feel to our stay. There was a wide choice of breakfast fare (including Ian's special porridge with raisins - to be recommended!) We had two evening meals which were beautifully cooked. There is also opportunity (if you don't mind Ian vacuuming round your feet!) to stay inside the House for part of the day and to use the comfortable communal lounge, though I have to say we found plenty to do locally and the weather was generally good. So.... a really enjoyable value for money experience and yes....we shall be back and will be recommending North Walk House to friends and family alike in the knowledge that they will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for the room immediately on the left at the top of stairs...if other rooms are better I'd be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayworsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

A charming traditional guesthouse with amazing views from every room. Owners Ian and Sarah could not have been more helpful or welcoming. Fantastic homemade cake on arrival and breakfast including home baked bread and local farm ingredients. Rooms were comfortable, quiet and spotlessly clean, with views to make you want to sleep with the curtains open! There is an honesty bar which was also a nice touch. Sadly the kitchen was closed for dinner when we stayed so we had some great value authentic tapas at the Oak Room nearby instead. The local area is stunningly beautiful and Ian can recommend great walks from the front door of the B&B.

Ian and Sarah have only been running this place since March but you'd think they'd been at it for years. It is pretty expensive for a B&B but we would definitely return and recommend it to friends or family.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baconcob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

Considerate hosts Sarah and Ian really try hard to ensure you enjoy your stay here. A good find - a large house perched up on Lynton with views out to the Channel. LArge comfortable rooms and comfortable beds. Sarah cooks an excellent dinner. The rooms are mainly for 2; I stayed here single occupancy.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betterthanluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
290 reviews
0 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.2 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
1 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to North Walk House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about North Walk House

Address: North Walk House North Walk, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $198 - $209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
North Walk House is a beautiful Victorian house in Exmoor on the South West Coastal Path, especially loved by walkers and foodies. Our ethos has been to create a warm and welcoming environment where guests feel relaxed and experience the finest quality food and wine in a natural and comfortable atmosphere, with original work by well known local artists and artisans. Our meat is all Organic and Local. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your North Walk House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
North Walk House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing