We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay in a lovely hotel”
Review of Ingleside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ingleside Hotel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed for a weekend at Ingleside in October. The Hotel was clean, warm, welcoming, great breakfasts, our stay was very comfortable.
We walked all over the area, up the river along to County Gates and down back along the south west coast path, then next day day walked up to Hollerday Hill, along to the Valley of the Rocks, up round by Lee Abey then back down by the river to Lynmouth.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nina19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 79 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We spent two nights at Ingleside in September. Our room on the top floor was clean, comfortable and had a fabulous view of Lynton/Lynmouth. Keith and Diane were very welcoming and friendly. Lynton/Lynmouth are beautiful areas to explore by foot and a trip on the cliff railway is a must. Plenty of restaurants, cafes and pubs for an evening ale. Breakfasts were excellent with plenty on offer. I would definitely stay here again and thank Keith and Diane for their hospitality.
Pete and Gail (Australia)

Room Tip: A room on the top floor with a view of Lynton....fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gazzkatok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My husband and i stayed for three nights and were made to feel very welcome. There was a great selection at breakfast, and as i'm on a coeliac diet i had previously emailed to ask if they could accomodate my diet, which they happiy did. Breakfast 8.15- 9.15am was a little early for us, but that is personal preference, but we were never rushed out of the breakfast room. The only disappointing thing about our room (Foreland Point) was the hand-held shower over the bath-it would be helpful to point this out in the details. We love our showers. The bed was too soft for us, but again that was personal preference, but the room was very cosy and the whole place is spotless.It's in a great position too, good views over Lynton ourt of the balcony window, and just a two minute walk into Lynton. All in all a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Knaptonfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

After searching for days for the perfect place we found it here. Keith and Diane are the perfect hosts. After sightseeing the most amazing views. Here was a peaceful place to stay just what was needed a lovely break to recharge the batteries. Breakfasts were wonderful great start to the day. Rooms were spotless and the bed was amazing. The room was wonderful too. We will definatley stay again. I could go on but well one word PERFECT thank you Keith and Diane :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shazbot63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

...though you will want to stay longer! There is so much to do in Lynton/Lynmouth if you like walking, taking the cliff railway and cream teas! ;) Our stay was for 2 nights, with breakfast cooked fresh on the Aga each morning. The Breakfast selection was the norm (cereals, cooked brekkie, toast etc - just what was needed!) with pancakes made to order (they're yummy!). I'm a foodie, so this set me up for the day!
Out room was on the top floor, 3 flights but it wasn't hard to access. The room had a high qulity finish, with ensuite bathroom- lovely. The room never too hot - the sash window saw to that. Great views over Lynton. Very comfy bed but my sleep quality could be improved by changing the pillows over - I find it difficult to get the right support unless the pillows are synthetic and don't require plumping (which these seemed to require).
Diane and Keith are very welcoming and nothing is to much trouble. Keith lent us a map with a recommendation for a short walk, which didn't disappoint. We also left our car in the car park on check out day so we still got to enjoy our morning in Glyn Gorge without worrying about parking issues.
Overall the Ingleside Hotel will not disappoint! With a great lounge for relaxing, jigsaws and books a plenty, you can be sure to have something to do in the rain (if you dont want to venture out!), and when it sunny there is outside seating to enjoy the Lynton village views.
I would definitely return to stay here :)

Room Tip: Get a room with a view! The top
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosiepUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed here for two nights as a weekend away. We were very pleased with the accommodation. We stayed in the Lyn valley view room, which has amazing views of the valley, its also a very spacious room with comfy arm chairs and a decent bed. The whole guest house has wifi, which is excellent as Vodafone have no signal at all in the area!

The location is really central and the cliff railway is 5 mins away, which takes you down to Lynmouth, which is lovely. There are a number of good walks around too,

The breakfasts were tasty and the owners friendly and welcoming. We will definitely be looking to come back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DobsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst attending a wedding on the Saturday. Diana & Keith could not be more accommodating, friendly or helpful. The room was fantastic, spotless, full of character and far better than we expected for the cost. The breakfast did not disappoint either. They could charge a lot more than they do.
We are already planning our next stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.2 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
0.9 mi away
Exmoor Manor Hotel
Exmoor Manor Hotel
#5 of 9 in Lynton
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ingleside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ingleside Hotel

Address: Lee Road | on the side of Hollerday Hill, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6HW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Lynton
Price Range: $64 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ingleside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ingleside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ingleside Hotel Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing