We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“weekend stay at lee house whilst attending a wedding”
Review of Lee House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lee House
Ranked #9 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 20, 2013

I attended a friends wedding in lynton and booked a weekend stay at lee house,well i have to say it was the best b&b that i have ever had the pleasure to stay in.Firstly and foremost i found the host and hostess to be extremely pleasant and polite,also very helpful with the local sites.If and when i visit the area again i will have no doubt as to where i will be staying,it's 5 stars from me and they are well deserved.P.S. you have to try their full english breakfast (it's faultless)

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet-comfortable and clinically clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 285 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2013

This was our second holiday at Lee House and we were not disappointed, in fact better than ever. We were booked in for four days and were so comfortable we stayed seven. Our room was at the front of the house and had the weather been better we could have taken advantage of the balcony and sat in the sun. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean and we were served a first class breakfast (cooked by Caroline and served by Ken) after a good night's sleep in the super comfy King size bed. Caroline and Ken make excellent host and hostess and the whole atmosphere is so relaxed. There are plenty of good walking places and we also took a couple of bus rides into Barnstaple and Minehead. Hopefully we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret186418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

What a joy! good hosts, good food great room.
execeptionally clean.
Superb food loved it!
Great location to visit North Devon.

We arrived early evening and we were greeted with a cup of tea and an biscuit before being shown to our room. We slept with out interuption no noise. Lovely comfortable bed. Breakfast exeptional and the tea was heavan. Caroline and Ken were helpful and knowlegable about the area. We spent a great couple of days out in lynmouth, ilfracombe and St martins . We visited Barnstaple and a great trip to Bude good icecream all round. A walk down the Bude canal to work up an appitite. Then back to Lee house for a wonderful hot bath and sumptious evening.
We will be back!

Room Tip: All the rooms will be great I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenP129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A good B&B with friendly and helpful owners and excellent breakfasts. We were there for two nights during which we did some super walking along the North Devon coast. The owners were attentive and knowledgeable in providing further information and advice about where we wanted to walk, how to get there, further options etc.

The bedroom was spacious and the bed very comfortable but I can't bring myself to give the full five stars because our room was in the attic and the water pressure was low, resulting in a weak shower which took an age to deliver hot water. So if you go there avoid the top floor.

Room Tip: Do go, but avoid the attic rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carolineinlynton, Owner at Lee House, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We enjoyed meeting you and value your comments.

Providing the best holiday break for our guests is always our top priority and whilst we were disappointed we didn’t quite achieve the coveted 5 star rating on this occasion, we were sorry to learn about the low water pressure in your en-suite. It was a shame we weren't advised about this at the time, as we would have liked the chance to put it right during your stay. It was a localised problem, which none of our other guest rooms experienced and has been rectified.

We work very hard to give all our guests a comfortable stay and are delighted you enjoyed the other aspects of your room, the attentive service and our hearty breakfasts, and found our knowledge about the area helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back when you return to do some of the other many walks available.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Comfy bed, clean room, delightful breakfasts and friendly service. What more can you ask for from a B&B? The walk from the village to the Valley of Rocks - across the top and back around the coastline - is perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jinChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way to Appledore,we were welcomed by Ken who showed us to our room. The room although not large was spotless, nicely furnished with everything we required and most important a really comfy bed. The bathroom also was spoltessly clean.
Breakfast was excellent with a good choice to suit all tastes. Lee House is perfectly situated for exploring Lynton and adjacent Lynmouth.
Would not hesitate to stay here again if in the area, apologies Ken for taking so long to write this review (we stayed 28th September) but better late than never!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillyNewportGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Great place to stay when visiting the North Coast of Devon. The house looks modest from the outside, but hosts Ken and Caroline have made it very comfortable. They provided excellent breakfasts (especially the eggs with salmon), and were accommodating to American tastes. We spent three nights there and their dinner recommendations in Lynton and Lynemouth on all three nights were terrific. Our room and bathroom were nice sized. Only quibble was with the shower in our room. The suitcase heater seemed to be undersized, so less water coming out than preferable, but that was a minor inconvenience. Bed was very comfortable. The Lee House is within easy walking distance of a spectacular part of the North Coast Trail and the Valley of the Rocks, as well the cliff railway to Lynemouth. Good base of operations, and great value for the cost.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.5 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#2 of 23 in Lynton
397 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pine Lodge Guest House
Pine Lodge Guest House
#5 of 23 in Lynton
377 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Vincent House
St. Vincent House
#14 of 23 in Lynton
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
288 reviews
0.0 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#3 of 23 in Lynton
460 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castle Hill Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lee House

Address: 27 Lee Road, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6BP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $110 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lee House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star Silver Award winning Guest House and featured in the Independent’s "The 50 best B&Bs," March 2011. We are delighted to be one of only a few accommodation providers in the area to hold the prestigious Silver Award for providing exceptional quality in all areas and in particular in service and hospitality. Tastefully decorated en-suite rooms. Free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Lee House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lee House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing