We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stale scones”

Watersmeet National Trust Tea Rooms
Ranked #1 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating
Eastleigh, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“stale scones”
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Having enjoyed our walk from lynton and having been before we where looking forward to a cream tea and when we arrived the tea room had just opened.We ordered and received our special cream tea.The tea ok but scones at least two days old!If you intend to serve stale scones at least warm them up! At least the birds enjoyed some we did not!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    66
    18
    12
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level Contributor
106 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Stunning location, good food”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

This is set at the junction where the two rivers merge into one wide one this lovely building is in a deep wooded valley.
With seating outside either under cover, out in the sun the inside is a cafe counter and shop.
I found the food excellent and reasonable prices, this hasn't always been the case, but now is delicious, good selection and great tea served in a teapot with hot water jug and plenty of milk. The service was cheerful and attentive.
During peak holiday times it is very busy and can be packed. The rest of the time it moves at a gentle pace. It was very quiet when I was there and lovely with the sound of the river and song birds. Do watch your food though. Those little birds are the bravest I've seen and will eat your food before you do and sit nearby watching your every move!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toopaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise for glutenfree visitors”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

The tea garden is just beautiful and a haven of peace. The cafeteria offers really nice lunch and tea. This is a real paradise for glutenfree visitors. A plenty of choice and even glutenfree scones! I had my first cream tea ever in my life and loved every bite of it.

Helpful?
Thank PekkaBrussels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Cream teas only sampled ,get a good walk in first and they taste even better .”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

The only thing we've ever eaten here is a Devon cream tea ,but if you get here the proper way that is hiking in from various directions through beautiful scenery and if it's sunny as you put your feet up in the garden it does taste like the best cream tea you can ever have .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pontylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
277 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Location location, average refreshments”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stopped at Watersmeet after a good day out at Lynton & Lynemouth. There was some pay & display parking then a little way past a smaller free carpark which would have required a further walk. From our carpark we descended down a steep zigzagging path to the rivers that meet at Watersmeet and crossed the bridges to the tearoom. The location is really picturesque and well worth a visit.

We hadn’t realised the teashop was a National Trust teashop until we stepped inside. It was a bit disappointing. The food/drink ordering area was cramped and frequently queued out the door. We enterred at a quieter time and realised the offerings were quite standard and no ice creams or scones without part of a cream tea (that we could see). We were told that ice creams were available in the shop so we went in there where we found a limited range of lollies and ice cream tubs. What a huge missed opportunity!! I’m sure if there was a ice cream shack there selling one branded ice cream then it would do really well.

The outdoor garden is lovely, with birds cheeping, the river babbling past and being surrounded in green trees. Children enjoyed a paddle in the river and walkers found a welcome refreshment.

So to conclude, I would definitely recommend visiting due to the location.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank lou181818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watersmeet National Trust Tea Rooms also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Watersmeet National Trust Tea Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing