We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“LOVELY B AND B”
Review of The Fernery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fernery
Ranked #9 of 24 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVELY B AND B”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

very friendly welcome after a tough day walking 15 miles of the sw path, cakes and squash in the garden was lovely. had a very nice room lot of character in interesting old house. fabulous breakfast. very friendly host. thankyou jo for your hospitality would recomend a stay here

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank lee w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
80
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Thanks Jo for a lovely stay. Clean, well decorated room, comfy bed, warm welcome and very nice breakfast, either cooked or continental. A little bit of a walk from the car, but was no problem. Couldn't have asked for more.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay with Jo at the Fernery was as good if not better than the first. Lovely room, very comfortable bed, excellent breakfast and a fantastic host in Jo made our stay in Lynton a happy one. We will definitely be returning.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gemma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Myself and a friend were doing a small tour around Exmoor before a festival and spent one night at The Fernery in Lynton.
Really beautiful place - almost stereotypically English. Joanne was a really great host: Even made us fresh scones for when we arrived! We didn't know the area, and Joanne was great giving us tips for what to do.
The room (a twin room) was really really nice. Really comfortable beds with an en-suite, and a lovely little seating area at the back.
Breakfast served in large and nicely decorated kitchen, and there was also a really nice lounge (with fire) to have a sit down.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2014

Just home from spending the night at The Fernery and it really was lovely. Clean, great value for money and situated in the ideal location. Joanne is a brilliant hostess who goes above and beyond. The room was perfect, extremely clean and beautifully furnished. We will definitely be returning in the summer.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Had 2 very comfortable nights here in March 2014. Jo is an excellent host, providing delicious home-made cakes on our arrival in front of the fire. Great breakfast and packed lunch. Comfy bed, great attention to detail and very clean. The B&B is well placed to go for walks from the front door, highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Hubby and I had a lovely stay here, lovely room and an amazing breakfast cooked by host Jo, which set you up for the day. Amazing nights sleep,comfortable bed, better than my own.Would recommend this lovely place for anyone wishing to stay in the area.

Silly me left my boots, and Jo informed me and posted them back to me, lovely lady!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D_and_YD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Longmead House
Longmead House
#3 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.7 mi away
Castle Hill Guest House
0.6 mi away
Rockvale
Rockvale
#7 of 24 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery

Property: The Fernery
Address: The Fernery Lydiate Lane, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fernery 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernery Bed and Breakfast! Freshly painted and tastefully refurbished, the new Fernery bed and breakfast is an ideal base for a family holiday, a romantic getaway or a restful break with friends! Our three en suite bedrooms offer the utmost convenience amid the comforting ambience only a period property can provide. Situated within the beautiful historic centre of Lynton, the Fernery is short walking distance from the Valley of the Rocks, the Lynton/Lynmouth Cliff Railway and the Southwest Coast Path, among other spots! Beyond these local jaunts, visitors will find Exmoor National Park, the scenic coastal villages of Minehead, Porlock and Ilfracombe, the stunning beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton Sands, and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Fernery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing