We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one night, wished it could have been longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fernery

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Fernery
Ranked #8 of 25 Lynton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Only one night, wished it could have been longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

We we welcomed with a roaring fire, coffee and cakes! What more could you wish for after a long drive. The whole bnb was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed too.
Parking was in a side road which was only downside.
Breakfast was mighty fine and although only staying one night we left very happy.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AndyG1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
77
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed 2 nights in January 2014, the B&B is immaculate and welcoming, we were given lovely coffee and biscuits in front if a real fire in the cosy sitting room, equipped with board games when we arrived, the little double room was very comfy and well equipped. Breakfast was lavish and delicious, and Jo even offered to cook us something for dinner as most places aren't open at this time of year- nothing was too much trouble!
We had a lovely stay and would certainly stay again if we were in the area.
We were fortunate to park free in a nearby street which Jo recommended to us, but if there's no space, the (very nearby) car park costs £3/day (in winter) so not a big issue!
Thanks for a lovely break Jo!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Freya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

As we were travelling in low season, we found it quite difficult to find accommodation in Lynton. Jo was able to put us up in a large, double en-suited room. This is a solid, 3 star B&B with a beautiful, cosy front room with a roaring fire (thanks for lighting it for us Jo!). Jo had cooked us home made cakes which she served for us as soon as we arrived, accompanied by a nice hot cuppa. It is in an amazing location to explore the town, we walked everywhere from here.

There are multiple restaurants and pubs for dinner... however all of them were closed by 7pm!! We ended up popping into the grocery store to buy some beer and antipasto and Jo provided us glasses, plates and cutlery. She had already offered to whip us up a quick dinner, so caring!!

Breakfast in the morning was great, kept us going all day. Not a luxurious stay, but it was everything you need. Comfy bed, clean bathroom with hot water and a friendly smile to greet you at the front door. Very affordable prices too! Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JodeCam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

The warmest of welcomes on the bleakest of days, tea and cake, spotless rooms with high quality linens and beds. It was warm and comfortable at all times especially in the cosy guests' sitting room when Jo lit the fire for us. Breakfast was as good as the rest. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glosjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

The owner was a great host. She took care us in a friendly and relaxed way, making sure we were comfortable and had everything we needed. We really enjoyed our stay and will come back.

The room was comfortable, clean and well appointed. Crisp linen and tick towels. Lovely view of well kept garden but not overlooked.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jcldm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had an excellent stay in this small BnB. The host was very helpful when we asked her about the walks in the area, the room was very clean and they have high quality bed linen and towels. The breakfast was excellent (the best we came across in North Devon)
The only downside is that you can hear noise from the other rooms.
I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NZ1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

I can only add to the previous comments. Fabulous place. Spotlessly clean, warm and cosy and relaxing. The weather was not good and we were so happy to return each day to the comfort of The Fernery. Everything is of top quality. The breakfast is superb and carries you through the whole day. I enjoyed too,Jo's sense of humour and friendliness. Lovely lady who puts 100% into making sure you are looked after. I look forward to my next visit to Lynton and The Fernery. Cannot recommend it enough. Go and see for yourself. You will be delighted.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank patricianelson_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lynton Cottage Hotel
Lynton Cottage Hotel
#1 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sinai House
Sinai House
#2 of 9 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.6 mi away
Southcliffe
Southcliffe
#1 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
0.6 mi away
Woodlands Guesthouse
Woodlands Guesthouse
#3 of 25 in Lynton
5.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernery

Property: The Fernery
Address: The Fernery Lydiate Lane, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Fernery 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fernery Bed and Breakfast! Freshly painted and tastefully refurbished, the new Fernery bed and breakfast is an ideal base for a family holiday, a romantic getaway or a restful break with friends! Our three en suite bedrooms offer the utmost convenience amid the comforting ambience only a period property can provide. Situated within the beautiful historic centre of Lynton, the Fernery is short walking distance from the Valley of the Rocks, the Lynton/Lynmouth Cliff Railway and the Southwest Coast Path, among other spots! Beyond these local jaunts, visitors will find Exmoor National Park, the scenic coastal villages of Minehead, Porlock and Ilfracombe, the stunning beaches of Woolacombe, Croyde and Saunton Sands, and much, much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Fernery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernery Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing