We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Pizza, lovely pint of Guinness or 2” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn

Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn
Ranked #2 of 26 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Thai, Asian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Cottage Inn is a family run public house on the fringe of Lynton and lynmouth , we stock a good range of well kept real ales, ciders, lagers , spirits and wines, We are now also selling our own Ale "FatBelly Ale" which is brewed right under your feet in the restaurant.. The inn is positioned along Lynbridge and is overlooking a river, this can be taken advantage of most by sitting in our beer garden or booking a table in our riverside restaurant. Our riverside restaurant is home to Nartnapa Thai Kitchen, this is Thai food cooked in a rustic way, using fresh ingredients from local suppliers, we do not view ourselves as fine dining specialists, and do not have a huge menu due to the chefs dedication to keeping every meal fresh to order but if you do fancy some fresh well flavoured meals then perhaps this is the place for you. From Tuesday to Saturday lunch times we run a small Thai Lunch Menu from 12-3.30 Please always call to check opening times for Sunday evenings Accommodation is also available from May 2015.
Taunton, Somerset
Level Contributor
70 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, lovely pint of Guinness or 2”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

lovely home cooked pizza and a perfectly poured guinness.

Friendly staff, good menu the chance to have a smaller portioned version of a main meal for £5.00 is genius.

Nice to have a customer plinging away on a guitar as well

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank tondoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi & thankyou for your review.
Glad you enjoyed it here, hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    47
    13
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited The Cottage Inn again last weekend, the atmosphere there is very warm and friendly with a very diverse clientele.

The staff are very welcoming and efficient and the food very well cooked and presented, fantastic value for money.

This pub deserves to do well, they all try so hard to please. Hope they have go from strength to strength.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank GPJeannieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi there & thankyou for your review.
It's great when we make people smile
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel, Fantastic Hosts, Fantastic Memories!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2013

We first visited this hotel 50 years ago on our honeymoon, so where better to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary than here?? Paul and Clare couldn't have been better hosts, no request was too big and even accommodated my cheeky request for a ride on one of Clare's horses - very brave of her considering I'm 76!!. Their attention to detail and care given to both my wife and I for the duration of our trip was 10/10. Paul liaised with both my daughter and sister-in-law regarding the celebration of our wedding anniversary and organised and delivered flowers and cards that arrived at the hotel for us. I was lucky enough to still be there to celebrate my birthday and again the staff couldn't have been kinder, offering cake and a Happy Birthday tune during dinner!! We stayed for 7 nights and only ate away from the restaurant one night (and that was only due to a pre-booked party), why would you when the food was excellent and the service from the restaurant staff was second to none. We were introduced to some of the locals and were made to feel immediately at home. It's a beautiful setting and has many lovely walks close by. We will definitiely revisit - Thoroughly recommend a stay.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret_and_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Sean & Margaret
Thankyou very much for your review. We are all glad that you had a good time here but we have to admit that pleasing you wasn't that hard as you were delightful guests. I only wish there was a 'guest advisor' as we'd be ranking you two 10/10.
looking forward to your 80th, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely food, warm people and a fabulous setting!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Cracking ribs for starter followed by nice lamb shank and hearty, solid pie. Great view overlooking the river rapids, open mic night included the youngest band I've ever seen in a pub and a definite star for the future! Wish it was my local. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank the_two_penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Hi and thankyou for your review. The band were brilliant weren't they? They are called Band of Roses and are all students of one of our local ladies. Definitely one to look out for in the future as you say.
Obviously we are very happy that you enjoyed the food as well, we have just re-structured the kitchen and my Son Jack & I are now running it between us, seems to be working well so far!
Many thanks again & hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Paul, Clare & Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A real gem, waiting to be discovered.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited the area on the sunny but very cold Easter weekend and used the Cottage Inn on all the 4 days we were staying. We are maybe a little biased as Clare & Paul used to run our village local and always provided good food, warm atmosphere and attention to detail. This was our opportunity to visit old friends in their new venture and appreciate the beautiful Lorna Doone area of Exmoor. The pub is situated right next to the picturesque river and good, although steep in places, walks through the villages or woodland. The pub has been refurbished and the letting rooms are on the way to making this the "pub to stay". The food was still as good as we were used to - the pork belly and lamb shanks a must. The welcoming wood burner after cold winds was a pleasing addition. With the ongoing refurbishments, excellent food & setting, this pub can only get better & better. Good luck, keep going, you deserve it. We will be back!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nomorewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Jane
Thankyou, it was great to see you all. Let us know you're coming next time & we'll re-stock the cellar!!
Take care x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing