We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and service”

Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Lynton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Cottage Inn is a family run public house on the fringe of Lynton and lynmouth , we stock a good range of well kept real ales, ciders, lagers , spirits and wines, We are now also selling our own Ale "FatBelly Ale" which is brewed right under your feet in the restaurant.. The inn is positioned along Lynbridge and is overlooking a river, this can be taken advantage of most by sitting in our beer garden or booking a table in our riverside restaurant. Our riverside restaurant is home to Nartnapa Thai Kitchen, this is Thai food cooked in a rustic way, using fresh ingredients from local suppliers, we do not view ourselves as fine dining specialists, and do not have a huge menu due to the chefs dedication to keeping every meal fresh to order but if you do fancy some fresh well flavoured meals then perhaps this is the place for you. From Tuesday to Saturday lunch times we run a small Thai Lunch Menu from 12-3.30 Please always call to check opening times for Sunday evenings Accommodation is also available from May 2015.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We visited The Cottage Inn again last weekend, the atmosphere there is very warm and friendly with a very diverse clientele.

The staff are very welcoming and efficient and the food very well cooked and presented, fantastic value for money.

This pub deserves to do well, they all try so hard to please. Hope they have go from strength to strength.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GPJeannieM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi there & thankyou for your review.
It's great when we make people smile
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

386 - 390 of 412 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2013

We first visited this hotel 50 years ago on our honeymoon, so where better to celebrate our Golden Wedding Anniversary than here?? Paul and Clare couldn't have been better hosts, no request was too big and even accommodated my cheeky request for a ride on one of Clare's horses - very brave of her considering I'm 76!!. Their attention to detail and care given to both my wife and I for the duration of our trip was 10/10. Paul liaised with both my daughter and sister-in-law regarding the celebration of our wedding anniversary and organised and delivered flowers and cards that arrived at the hotel for us. I was lucky enough to still be there to celebrate my birthday and again the staff couldn't have been kinder, offering cake and a Happy Birthday tune during dinner!! We stayed for 7 nights and only ate away from the restaurant one night (and that was only due to a pre-booked party), why would you when the food was excellent and the service from the restaurant staff was second to none. We were introduced to some of the locals and were made to feel immediately at home. It's a beautiful setting and has many lovely walks close by. We will definitiely revisit - Thoroughly recommend a stay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Margaret_and_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi Sean & Margaret
Thankyou very much for your review. We are all glad that you had a good time here but we have to admit that pleasing you wasn't that hard as you were delightful guests. I only wish there was a 'guest advisor' as we'd be ranking you two 10/10.
looking forward to your 80th, take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Cracking ribs for starter followed by nice lamb shank and hearty, solid pie. Great view overlooking the river rapids, open mic night included the youngest band I've ever seen in a pub and a definite star for the future! Wish it was my local. Thanks!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank the_two_penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2013

Hi and thankyou for your review. The band were brilliant weren't they? They are called Band of Roses and are all students of one of our local ladies. Definitely one to look out for in the future as you say.
Obviously we are very happy that you enjoyed the food as well, we have just re-structured the kitchen and my Son Jack & I are now running it between us, seems to be working well so far!
Many thanks again & hope to see you again.
Kind regards
Paul, Clare & Jack

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We visited the area on the sunny but very cold Easter weekend and used the Cottage Inn on all the 4 days we were staying. We are maybe a little biased as Clare & Paul used to run our village local and always provided good food, warm atmosphere and attention to detail. This was our opportunity to visit old friends in their new venture and appreciate the beautiful Lorna Doone area of Exmoor. The pub is situated right next to the picturesque river and good, although steep in places, walks through the villages or woodland. The pub has been refurbished and the letting rooms are on the way to making this the "pub to stay". The food was still as good as we were used to - the pork belly and lamb shanks a must. The welcoming wood burner after cold winds was a pleasing addition. With the ongoing refurbishments, excellent food & setting, this pub can only get better & better. Good luck, keep going, you deserve it. We will be back!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nomorewine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi Jane
Thankyou, it was great to see you all. Let us know you're coming next time & we'll re-stock the cellar!!
Take care x

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

The food was truly delicious. Best ribs we have ever tasted! All dishes were perfectly cooked, locally sourced and really good value for money. Will definitely be back here when next in lynton. Thank you for such a lovely meal with fab service to boot! If you are in lynton and want superb pub food - this place is certaibly a winner, dont miss out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kerry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare P, Owner at Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2013

Hi there
Thankyou so much for your review, it means alot to all of us.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynmouth, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Nartnapa Thai - Cottage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing