We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming hosts in pleasant b&b”
Review of Waterloo House

Waterloo House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Waterloo House
Ranked #22 of 23 Lynton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Penny & Paul were very welcoming, friendly hosts. We stayed in the more modern bedroom which suited us. The house is beautiful and having guest lounge was great to relax in. Breakfast was delicious, we were sorry not to have managed more! Penny had some great ideas for places to go, we took her advice & visited Dunster on the way home. Fabulous

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizzylee97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2013

Thank you for this review. It is most welcome

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 45 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

After my sister thinking Lynton was the lower village, we booked our stay, then discovered it was the top village. However, we were glad of the mistake, as we got the best of both worlds and wouldn't have found Penny and Paul's lovely guest house. They were so friendly and helpful. We had delicious breakfasts daily and the room was spacious. All in all an excellent few days away. Thank you Paul and Penny.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank watercolourpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Thank you Sue and Jill for this review. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us. Do come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Always a worry when you book a new hotel, just on price alone and you wonder what to expect. Well my partner and I stayed 3 nights over the Spring Bank Holiday at this small hotel (only 5 bedrooms I believe) and we could not have been made more welcome by the hosts Paul and Penny. Paul's cooked breakfasts were to die for and certainly filled us up for most of the day. Any minor problems that we might have had were soon sorted out and nothing was too much trouble to ensure that we had a great time.. I think any proprietor is thankful for feedback whilst your there as it probably helps them provide a better service for you and future guests. Much better than just having a moan on Trip Adviser. The bedroom we had was clean and very comfortable with its own fridge and tea and coffee making facilities. Would we come here again - yes we will and hopefully before the year is out.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you very much for this review. We do hope you will return. We strongly advise all our guests to carefully check our web site and contact us directly for best deals and price. particularly during the Autumn/Winter months when significant discounts will be offered. We currently offer superb value summer packages too for stays of FIVE days or longer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Just returned from 3 night stay at the Waterloo. Both Penny and Paul were great hosts and very attentive. Breakfast was excellent and we were given lots of helpful advise about where to visit. Local area is beautiful with lots of great walks. We had a wonderful time and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Onedayatatime9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2013

Thank you for this review. It is very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

A great base to tour the local area. Near to a convienient car park and all the amenities in town. Very welcoming hosts who worked hard provide for our every need. The room was neat and warm. A good breakfast and plenty of tips where to visit. We'd recommend walking to watersmeet up a scenic valley, the coast path either side of Lynton - particularly near woody bay and visiting Mr Hursts statue at Ilfracoombe. The small quirky cinema in Lynton is also worth a visit.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank somabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank very much for this review. It is most appreciated. Penny and I are pleased you were warm and that you also founds plenty to see and do in the area. Do keep in touch with our new web site for news of some incredible attractions in the West Country from Dorset to Cornwall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We stayed here for the Easter break with a groupon voucher. With the voucher it was very good value. Penny 'the owner' was very friendly and gave us some great tips on where to visit. The surrounding area is stunning and her tips were invaluable especially given we weren't familiar with North Devon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SorrentoSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

This review is unworthy of comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

We spent an extended weekend at Waterloo House, and were nicely welcomed by Penny: a most pleasant hostess who shared her own tips and advice on the area.

However, our room was very basic and unreasonably cold. With only a tiny radiator right by the door, the room rarely got above 15 degrees. Luckily we brought our own sleeping bags and blankets, but it made it difficult to relax and felt more like camping than B&Bing. The ‘bathroom’ is no bigger than a wardrobe, has an ill-fitting carpet, doesn’t fit a sink and has no heater.

Waterloo House is in a lovely location, and the hostess is most welcoming, but unfortunately we cannot recommend it – unless, of course, you manage to book the top room and you’re travelling in summer!

Room Tip: Judging from other reviews, the top room is your best bet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MIssFrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul O, Owner at Waterloo House, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

An interesting review given the fact that the guest was refused a reduction on the invoice because they made a mistake in understanding the terms of their booking. When you book online the cost and terms can be quite different then when booking direct. Unfortunately vindictive lashing out is the resort of the those not willing to accept responsibility for making a mistake. Incidentally, no mention was made of a cold room while this guest was staying. Interesting eh!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lynton hotels
1.1 mi away
Chough's Nest Hotel
Chough's Nest Hotel
#3 of 9 in Lynton
203 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay Valley of Rocks Hotel
1.1 mi away
North Cliff Hotel
North Cliff Hotel
#7 of 9 in Lynton
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lynton Cottage Seaview Apartments
1.1 mi away
The Seawood Hotel
The Seawood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Lynton
335 reviews
1.0 mi away
Highcliffe House
Highcliffe House
#1 of 23 in Lynton
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waterloo House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterloo House

Address: 1 Lydiate Ln, Lynton, Exmoor National Park EX35 6AJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Exmoor National Park > Lynton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Lynton
Price Range: $40 - $118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterloo House offers peaceful, relaxed, child free accommodation in Lynton, Devon, for seasoned travellers and guests seeking old fashioned service, with the experience to appreciate it. It is ideal for the discerning seeker of quiet indulgence, and the restorative benefit of the incredible beauty of the Exmoor coast and countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Waterloo House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo House Lynton, Exmoor National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing