We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a cream tea in summer”

Lee Abbey Tea Cottage
Ranked #3 of 5 Coffee & Tea in Lynton
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect for a cream tea in summer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A beautiful garden in a gorgeous setting of the Lee Valley, this is the perfect place for a cream tea ! I went twice in August 2013, and on the 2nd visit bought an equally delicious strawberry and custard tart. The cottage sells wholesome, organic and fairly traded food at a reasonable prices. The service at the counter and the tables was friendly and prompt. One word of warning however - it is closed on Mondays except for bank holidays.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikebuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    5
    1
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A lovely tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Staying locally at a campsite we decided on a circular walk which included Lee Bay. We very happily stumbled upon Lee Abbey Tea Gardens on our walk, which was a delight. The service is a bit hit and miss, the UK and international staff are from nearby Lee Abbey a christian holiday centre / retreat.
We both had a cheese sandwich unfortunately the pickle was missing, (staff could not understand what was being ordered) cake and tea/coffee. Lunch was superb, it's well worth a visit if your in the area.
Dogs are not allowed on the estate beach until 1 Nov...Shame!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLassInDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsham-le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“SCONES.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Tea was nice after a full days walking. Beautiful place to sit and eat lovely good cooking and jams. Lovely garden and some areas protected from the sun.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank david v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Oasis of Calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Beautiful garden to sit in, particularly on a boiling hot day after strenuous walk over South Cliff. Cheerful attentive staff, even if we ended up with two cheese scones, when we had only ordered one, but that was no hardship!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

We met friends for lunch at the Tea Cottage. Not only is the garden picture perfect, but the food is excellent too. We had a choice of seating inside or around the garden. Some tables were in the sun and some in the shade, so a choice for all. The menu was clearly homemade food, and the beef for the sandwiches even came from the Lee Abbey estate! That's fresh! We found everything to be wonderfully presented and of good quality. The prices were very reasonable and they had a little shop with handmade, fairtrade and ethical items, which is always nice to see. Well done to them for promoting Fairtrade. The beach is only a minutes walk down a hill. Parking is available for only a couple of pounds for half the day. The whole setting was perfect, and the service was excellent. Shame it's only open in the summer (and I think not open on Sun or Mon), but if you are in Lynton, or passing through the Valley of the Rocks, it's the perfect stop. Better than Watersmeet.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lee Abbey Tea Cottage also viewed

Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
Lynton, Exmoor National Park
 

Been to Lee Abbey Tea Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing